“Doc Martin” the Movie

My May 29th post, cyranette.doc-martin, enthusiastically introduced you to “Doc Martin,” the British television series, which Danny and I are crazy about. Since then, Netflix has finally offered season 5 episodes. And, upon further searching, Danny and I were delighted to learn that Martin Clumes had starred in a 2001 television movie called “Doc Martin,” which inspired the series. However, much to our surprise, the two were quite different – but not in a bad way at all.

In the movie, Clumes’ character is Martin Bamford, a married obstetrician with a great personality (well, more normal at least). After learning that his wife has been having affairs with his three friends, he tells his receptionist to cancel his appointments for a week and takes off for Port Isaac (the actual name) in Cornwall. He arrives on the last train of the night and is the only passenger to get off. The one taxi available runs out of gas halfway to the village, so Bamford follows the driver in a trek over fields, fences, and puddles. The first impression he makes isn’t too great, as he has had a tumble or two along the way and arrives sans shoes at the only pub and inn. Because he doesn’t want to be tracked down, he gives a false name to the innkeeper.

The residents of Port Isaac have a bit of mystery on their hands: Someone has been delivering big, bright colored jello molds to people guilty of something – smoking pot, adultery, etc. – with the evidence inside the gel. All anyone has ever seen of the tall woman is from behind or in shadow and wearing yellow gloves. The residents are also quite nosy and interferring, especially around strangers, who might not be telling the truth.

On the first night, though, one fisherman befriends Bamford, who attempts to help bring in lobster and crab traps off the coast, while trying to find cell phone coverage to see if his wife has called. She hasn’t, so he immerses himself in the daily fishing and helping in odd medical emergencies. In the end, his wife arrives to bring him back, the jello culprit turns out to be a man, and Martin realizes he does not want to return to London…Jolly good!!

(Note: The above poster picture for this movie should be exchanged for the smiling one in my May post. In the movie, he smiles a lot and is friendly. In the series, he never smiles and is very rude.)

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 8. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 14years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I cannot abide intolerance, ignorance, narrow-mindedness, selfishness, fanaticism, fads, mediocrity, rudeness, or unkindness. I believe in love and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books. I cannot stop writing.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

