Fruit Tapenade

I often get compote and chutney mixed up, but I never heard of tapenade until I came upon a REDBOOK recipe. The ingredients for a fruit tapenade sounded similar, then I looked up tapenade in the dictionary – a savoury paste made from capers, olives, and anchovies with olive oil and lemon juice. Definitely not my cup of tea! However, this fruity rendition will tastily accompany grilled steak, chicken, fish, or pork chops. (For more cooking information and advice, you might want to check out David Hayden’s foodieknowledge.)

Recipe of the Week: Fruit Tapenade

1-1/2 lb. mixed and diced peaches, nectarines, plums
1/4 c. fresh basil leaves, torn
1/4 c. French olives, pitted and chopped
2 tbs. minced shallot
2 tbs. fresh lemon juice
1 tbs. extra virgin olive oil
1/4 tsp. kosher salt
2-3 tbs. clover honey

Directions: Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl, adding honey to taste. Spoon onto cooked meat.

*****

Thought of the Week: Small town parades…Like most small towns, New Braunfels proudly turns out for the annual County Fair Parade. Today’s parade kicks off the 119th Comal County Fair and Rodeo. Because so many children are showing animals and participating in the Comal County Fair and Rodeo, as well as the parade, all Comal County schools are closed. The parade begins at 10:00 a.m. and we’ll have to set up our chairs on the parade route an hour earlier, because this year our 8th-grade grandson will be marching and playing his trumpet in the New Braunfels Middle School Band and 7th-grade granddaughter will be walking with her Leo Club (part of the Lion’s Club). There will be lots of bands, floats, trucks, tractors, horses, twirlers, and political waving…Local events like these, with streets blocked off, businesses closed, neighborhoods emptied, and whistling/clapping crowds lining the sidewalks, can be found across Texas and the whole country. God bless America!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 8. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 14years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I cannot abide intolerance, ignorance, narrow-mindedness, selfishness, fanaticism, fads, mediocrity, rudeness, or unkindness. I believe in love and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books. I cannot stop writing.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fruit Tapenade

  1. mskatykins says:

    I’m not convinced about tapenades either. I love olives, but there’s something a little weird about them in this format. Having read the recipe, I guess it’s the anchovies. I like the sound of this fruity alternative. :)

    • Cyranette says:

      I can tolerate sliced black olives on pizza, but I had a whole black olive last night and my palate cringed. However, I forced myself to eat a couple more only because they are supposed to be good for you. Don’t care one bit if anchovies are – they will never make it past my closed lips. :-(

      • mskatykins says:

        Olives are curious little creatures… I actually love them, but it took a long time before I could stomach them. Anchovies need to be used sparingly. Apart from anything else, they are far too salty for me. :)

Leave a Reply

