A Light Lunch

With summer nearing the last thing I want to do is heat up the kitchen. Minimal stoving is good for me, so I usually go for a sandwich at lunch. The other day I came up with something easy and tasty to share with a friend or to enjoy alone…

Recipe of the Week: Stuffed Avocado

4 large eggs, hard boiled
pickle relish
light mayonnaise
mustard
pepper
paprika
chopped olives, optional
1 large avocado
lettuce leaves
1 c. cubed watermelon and cantaloupe pieces

Directions: Make egg salad in a small bowl. Cut avocado in half, take out the seed (hopefully, it’s a big one) and take off the skin. On a salad plate, place lettuce leaves. Put an avocado half on top. Fill seed pit with egg salad. Sprinkle with paprika. Place fruit around the avocado. Cover and store unused egg salad in refrigerator. If don’t need second avocado half, leave skin on, put seed back in, cover with plastic wrap, and store in fridge.

Option: Substitute pico de gallo or cole slaw for egg salad.

avocado

*****

Thought of the Week: It’s the weather, people. I cannot remember ever having to wear a sweater or light jacket in Texas in April before. I’m not complaining – I love cool air – but it is weird. The whole country has had a rollercoaster of temperatures for months. One day it’s almost too warm, another day it’s almost cold. In some states it’s still snowing. If it wasn’t for all the bright green of spring here in New Braunfels snd San Antonio, I could almost be convinced it was autumn. Crazy!

spring 2013

Then again, maybe it’s the plethora of cloudy days that have been keeping the sun from roasting us too soon. Now that’s a blessing!!! May not be great for tourists looking for river fun, but it’s more than fine with me. :-)

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 8. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 14years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I cannot abide intolerance, ignorance, narrow-mindedness, selfishness, fanaticism, fads, mediocrity, rudeness, or unkindness. I believe in love and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books. I cannot stop writing.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Light Lunch

  1. yourothermotherhere says:

    I’m in the Midwest and it’s cold here right now even though it’s supposed to get into the lower 50s today. The sky is heavy and it looks like we are going to be in for a big storm.

    I really wish summer would get here, but heck, we haven’t even had spring yet. I shudder to think of what this is going to do to food prices which are already outrageously high.

    • Cyranette says:

      My parents moved us from rainy Indiana decades ago for that very reason…Food prices may depend more on diesel transportation prices to get products across the country, but I know weather can mess with crops, too.

Leave a Reply

