Mediterranean Pasta Salad

It’s taken Danny’s heart disease to get me to eat olives, but I have not been overwhelmed by recipes using them. Since the Mediterranean diet has been touted by various sources as one that is very heart healthy, I tried my hand at a large pasta salad last Sunday. It was so good that we didn’t want to spoil the flavor by eating the fruit salad I also made…

Recipe of the Week: Mediterranean Kitchen Sink Salad

3 c. dried pasta (whole grain or vegetable medley), spirals or penne
6.5 oz. jar of artichoke hearts, drained and rinsed
2 c. Paisley Farm All Natural Four Bean Salad, drained
1/3 c. sliced Greek Kalmata olives, drained
1/4 c. crumbled fat-free feta cheese
3 tbs. Zesty Italian dressing
1/2 c. diced bell peppers, mixture of green/red/orange
whole grain/multi-grain flat bread
2% Swiss cheese slices
1/2 c. fresh tomatoes, diced

100_0368

Directions:
1.  In large dutch oven, cook pasta in boiling water with olive oil and minced garlic for 15 minutes. (Medium heat is fine.)
2. While it’s cooking, prepare some flat bread bruschetta with 2% Swiss cheese and fresh diced tomatoes. Set aside on cookie sheet, but do not put in oven yet.
3. When the pasta is cooked to firm, drain but do not rinse it. Add cold water to stoppered sink, about 3″ worth. Place dutch oven with drained pasta in the water, cover and let pasta cool down.
4. Turn oven on to low broil and put flat bread in the middle of the oven.
5. Drain, rinse, and/or dice the other ingredients. When all is ready, put pasta in large serving bowl, add the olives, feta cheese, bell peppers, bean salad mixture, artichoke hearts, and dressing. Mix thoroughly.
6. Serve with warm flat bread. Cover and store leftovers in refrigerator.

100_0364

****

Thought of the Week:  A record=breaking sixteen-hundred kids signed up for Little League this spring, so nearly every afternoon and night teams are either practicing or playing games on the nine available fields in New Braunfels. Our nine-year-old grandson, Ben, is in his fourth season and improving every year. So far in his Little League career, he has been hit by the ball five times, four times by various pitchers. The last injury happened during practice on Wednesday night, when a fast ball he was trying to catch bounced out of his glove and landed on his nose. The x-ray he had was inconclusive due to the swelling. Does it look a little crooked to you?

ben's nose

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 8. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 14years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I cannot abide intolerance, ignorance, narrow-mindedness, selfishness, fanaticism, fads, mediocrity, rudeness, or unkindness. I believe in love and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books. I cannot stop writing.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mediterranean Pasta Salad

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    Oh, I hope that crookedness is just the swelling and angle!

Leave a Reply

