Hollywood’s Bottom Line

Everytime another crass, crude, rude, stupid, or horrific movie gets released, I cringe. It’s not that Hollywood can’t make good movies (“Star Wars,” “Indiana Jones,” “Forrest Gump,” “Masters and Commanders,” “The Green Mile,” “The Sixth Sense,” “Shakespeare in Love,” “The Blind Side,” “Gone with the Wind,” “Avatar,” etc.), it’s that they don’t want to. Why? Guess…Because mindless junk pays better. Much better – unfortunately. There are millions of idiots (mostly teen/20’s/30’s males) in this once fine country who obviously crave senseless gore, violence, immorality, and potty humor. And, as a result, the rest of us have to suffer from a lack of worthwhile films. Of course, we do save money by not going to see these insufferable offerings.

The sad thing is that thousands of wonderful, creative books, stories, and screenplays have been written and are being written right now but won’t see the light of the cameras. Oh, woe is us!…No, whoa there! Wait a minute, people! Let’s take another look at this ghastly situation. There has to be a glimmer of hope somewhere for like-minded patrons of thought-provoking, heartwarming, exciting, and/or suspenseful movies. Can’t we join together somehow and encourage a couple producers and directors to go out on a limb and produce some WOW movies a couple times a year? That would appease me. How about you? It would be like reading; not every book I read (and I read several a month) is great, but once in a while there is one I hate to put down, one I don’t want to end.

Hey, Hollywood, how about it?  Anybody game to produce another excellent movie? How about getting off your spreading bottom line and give us something to crow about!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hollywood’s Bottom Line

  1. jennibug says:

    You know I’m with you on this one! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

