Morning Walk

Every morning – unless its raining – I go for a walk with weights on my ankles and small hand weights. I don’t do it because I love exercise, I force myself to walk because it’s good for my heart and keeps me in size 10 shorts/jeans/skorts. It does not get rid of my lower belly, though. NOTHING will get rid of THAT, except starvation. It did disappear for four years back in the 90’s after the divorce, but as soon as I found my true love and began cooking again the tummy came back. Ugh!!!

Anyway, back to the walk. I leave the house between 7:30 and 8:00 to avoid the heat, but as soon as I step outside I am cocooned in the dense humidity. (Those of you who live in low-humidity places have no idea what I’m talking about. Stay there! Never venture to Texas or east of the Mississippi in the summer.) I would like to say I’m shrouded in humidity, but that implies I’m dead and gone for good. (So, cocooned is okay, so is enveloped. ) Needless to say, HELP! I hate humidity. It is so thick here in central Texas and beyond that it feels as though you have to swim through it to get around. It makes me feel as though I’ve gained 30 pounds and cannot fast-walk. Disgusting! I get through the walk only by telling myself that I am burning up more calories, because I’m sure sweating more.

I also choose this time of morning because of the traffic, thinking no school buses or parents taking their children to school. Hah! Oh me of feeblemindedness – there are still people who take their children to summer school or day care, have jobs, or want to get a breakfast taco or two at Granzin’s down the hill from us. So I’m slogging along in the almost visible humidity when I have to stop at corners for a car or truck. They have no idea they are impeding my progress or they don’t care. (I’m quite used to being irrelevant.) Plus, I do not like being observed while I walk. (Is that a conumdrum or what?!?!) Everytime I stop or slow down for a vehicle, I look away as though I’m contemplating which direction I should go next, when I’m really thinking ungenerous thoughts. Sighhhh. Life is sooo difficult.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

