Father’s Day

I awoke today and thought for the first time about people who do not celebrate Father’s Day: orphans, the abused, the abandoned, and those whose fathers are deceased. For these people – children and adults – it is a sad day, dreaded day, or hated day that evokes unwelcome memories or heart-wrenching despair. With myriad commercials and sales confronting these fatherless or abused boys/girls/men/women for a week or more, their lives must be tortuous. Do they retreat into themelves, avoid their friends, not watch television, make sure they are gone for the weekend, become more argumentative, or just get drunk? How would you feel if you had a bad father or no father at all? How DO you feel?

Not everyone is blessed with a good father, but there are no perfect fathers either because they are just human beings who cannot help but make an occasional mistake or more. A great father puts his children above himself but does not spoil them. He is there for them in times of need but guides them towards independency. He treats them with respect and expects respect in return. He makes them feel secure and safe but allows them to be adventurous. He applauds their achievements and picks them up when they fall… Obviously, there are not a lot of those kinds of fathers around. The dysfunction of today’s society makes that quite evident, and it’s a crying shame. Can we never get rid of cyclic abuse? Will the world ever stop the hating and warring that lead to dead fathers and never-to-be fathers?

There is so much more to say upon this subject, but I have to go have breakfast with my Dad, who is 84 and insists I get out of the house to play golf with him once a week. I am blessed.

BTW: Father’s Day is celebrated in 55 countries with dates varying from January to November. It was first recognized in Spokane, WA in 1910 but did not become a national holiday until 1972. In 1937 a group of NYC retailers got together to begin promoting the buying of presents and thus the commercialization of the event.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Father’s Day

  1. jennibug says:

    Very thoughtful commentary… made me think, and I enjoyed the facts at the end! 🙂

    Like

  2. Mom Dawson says:

    Hi! I enjoyed your blog very much. I feel as if you are here and we are having a little chat. Love you! Lynne

    Like

Leave a Reply

