Sweating

Although sweating is one of my least favorite bodily functions, I don’t mind it as a result of gardening, exercise, or playing with the kids. What I can’t stand is when I sweat just because it’s so friggin’ hot and humid – standard Texas weather. When just walking from car to grocery store or just sitting on the porch makes me sweat. It drives me crazy and makes me less patient. No wonder more crime is committed in the summer!

When it’s hot, you can only get naked. You can’t take off anything but clothes. You can’t get rid of the nerves that make you feel hot, shut down your brain, or turn off your sweat faucets. You can’t stay in the shower or swimming pool 24/7. You can stay inside or move waaaay north.

When we moved to Texas back in the 60’s, we didn’t have airconditioning. We hadn’t had it in Indianapolis either. How on earth did we do that??? I don’t remember sweating at night in our unair-conditioned dormitory bedroom. (We five girls shared a big room that opened onto a deck.) I stopped being able to tolerate the heat after my children were born. Some women’s straight hair turns curly after childbirth, I just became heat-intolerant. I get heat rashes on my legs and a fungus at my bra-line and waist-line. Gross!!!

So, ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, give me winter anytime! You can layer clothes, bundle under blankets, snuggle with your honey, or sit by the fireplace. But you won’t sweat when you walk outside.

A word to the wise:  Please try not to use antiperspirants. They block the sweat, but sweat is toxic and not good for you. If you block it, then it goes into your lymph glands and can cause cancer down the road. Unless it’s a special occasion and you would be extremely embarrassed to show sweat, please use deodorants only, which I have been doing for 25 years.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

