Strawberries

Mmmmmm, I love strawberries. Just finished a bowl of Cheerios to which I’d added organic strawberries. I only buy the organic ones, because their soil is not fumigated with methyl bromide. (Any chemical in the soil is absorbed by the roots and thus passed up into the fruit or vegetable.) Organic strawberries have the best taste, but the drawback is that they aren’t always available. In winter, we have to go several months without strawberries; in the spring/summer, they aren’t grown as abundantly as the non-organic ones. This is a total bummer but well worth the wait. Another drawback is that without preservatives the fruit must be eaten within a couple days or it starts going bad. Such a disappointment to have your heart set on strawberries in a fruit salad, but they are moldy already.

As I was cutting up the remaining unspoiled parts of the strawberries this morning in hopes they’ll be good tomorrow, I remembered a girl who lived around the corner from us in Indianapolis. Her name was Gracia and I thought that was such a pretty name. We didn’t play together much but did go to the same elementary. One summer day I asked her if she would like some strawberry ice cream, and she said she was allergic to strawberries. Can you imagine?!?! I couldn’t. Her parents had lots more money than ours, but I felt sorry for her because she couldn’t eat strawberries.

Back in the 80s, I stopped using those packaged sponge cakes that are still in use today. Instead, I perfected the art of making strawberry shortcake by adding vanilla to the batter and vanilla and powdered sugar to the heavy whipping cream I whipped. It makes a mean strawberry shortcake! Unfortunately, I went on a binge and made it for dessert and breakfast for a couple days. Burn out! I didn’t make it again for several years.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Strawberries

  1. jennibug says:

    I enjoyed this post!! Love the pictures you added! Strawberries ARE yummy, and I can’t imagine being allergic to them either! Your shortcake sounds amazing – I’ll have to get that recipe from you. 🙂

    Like

  2. Monnie says:

    Thank you, sweetie…The recipe is super easy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

