Quoting

Until a few months ago, I thought I was the most ill-read writer out there. The thousands of books I’ve read in the last 30 years or so have had significant quotes in them, either at the front of the book or at the beginning of each chapter. It has been slightly intimidating, so I barely glanced at them. That authors had the time to read all these writings by so many, mostly long-dead people and have had the wherewithal to apply quotes to their own works, frankly, overwhelmed me. Maybe these authors actually knew some of the quoted-ones. And, I presumed that publishers were looking for these well-read authors above all others. What chance did I have?!?!

Then, to my utter glee, I discovered that these authors weren’t such literary smarties after all. (To those of you who are, I apologize.) Nooooo, one day I came across a book of quotes that was categorized and delineated by feelings, thoughts, objects, subjects. You name it, there was a quote for it. I was redeemed! In a way those people were cheating, taking the easy way. Tsk, tsk, tsk.

Although I have had a book of quotes sitting in my writing bookcase for decades, I have never used it for quoting. I read it for the knowledge, common sense, and humor. Silly me.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quoting

  1. jennibug says:

    Ha ha, you’re too funny!! I have a big book of quotes, like you described. It’s pretty easy to find any quote on any topic on the internet, too! There’s plenty of ways to “cheat” nowadays!! 😉

    Like

    • cyranette says:

      Thanks, Jenni. I am such a stickler for the “literal.” I only recently began using the “handicapped” toilets, believing that a person had to be disabled to use them. (shrug) For decades, I feared being caught and fined no matter how badly I had to go.

      Like

  2. Merideth McCallick says:

    I too have several books of quotes, one of my favorite books is entitled “The Quotable Bitch” Before you gasp, it is chock full of opinionated women that are deemed to be a “bitch” because they are successful, opinionated, and out spoken. Betty Davis, Bette Midler, Shirley McLaine, Lucille Ball, Barbara Streisand, and Gloria Steinem are some of my favorites. The book talks about men, children, love, loss, politics, and religion in varying degrees of haughtiness and lots of sarcasm. I enjoy reading it when I need a laugh (and even when I don’t). I was intrigued when I read the quotes from Betty Davis and Joan Crawford-they attack each other quite a bit..it’s interesting to say the least.

    Like

Leave a Reply

