Distinctive Differences

Our bodies are two-sided, not uniform. Look in the mirror. Your eyes and nostrils are not the same. The difference may be almost indiscernible, but it is there. A slight slant of eyelid or more white showing around the iris. One nostril more narrow than the other. The hair of a man’s mustache grows closer to the nose on one side. One ear differs from the other in detail. There is a mole or birthmark on one side but not the other. (A cashier at a local department store had the very worst of two-sidedness. One side was perfectly normal; the other side, including her cranium, was pushed in and up. But she was nice and told me about her daughter.) No one thinks of a dimple as an abnormality; they are very cute. However, sometimes a person only has one.

Before you dress or after a shower/bath, pause to check out the anomalies in the mirrow. Are the nipples symmetric? Is one breast slightly lower than the other? Are your ribs aligned equally? The ribs on my right are higher than on the left. My right patella (that’s medical speak for knee) is higher than my left. My left foot is a half-inch longer than my right….and so on. Do you have six toes on one foot? Is your hair thicker on one side? Are your toes or fingers webbed?

The distinction can be amazing and maybe a little frightening. Like we’re almost two sides spliced together, but that cannot be true. When does the difference begin? At what point in the dividing of our cells, which turn us into embryos and then fetuses, does the division become unbalanced? Think of all those billions of rapid divisions of which we are made. Is it any wonder that sometimes there is a little hiccup? No. The entire process from conception to birth is an utter, unequivocal miracle. God is GREAT!  

So even if the “perfect” body isn’t perfect, rejoice! Or not…In any case, our exterior appearance is well overrated. Too often we allow others to judge our outward image, when what truly matters in our brief stay on earth is our essence – our hearts and our souls, how we perceive the world and interact within it.

Therefore, don’t be bummed by a bad hair day or zits or small boobs or whatever. Stand up tall with your chin held high, because God made us ALL! Just be healthy – that’s the most important thing.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Distinctive Differences

  1. jennibug says:

    This post was encouraging – I do struggle with self esteem issues, actually. Always have. But I really liked what you wrote: what matters is your “essence.” Well said!

    Like

  2. Pingback: 2010 in review | Cyranette's Blog

Leave a Reply

