Trees, trees, trees

Yesterday I got sidetracked. “Majestic Redwoods” started out as “I Love Trees.” I meant to write about loving trees after being inspired by the huge sycamore tree leaves in our front yard. (That is just one big leaf I’m touching.)

When I was a Girl Scout in Indianapolis, we went to botanical gardens and camped in the forests. We learned all about trees and leaves, bugs and blooms. I was enthralled. The canopy covering the trails kept us cool in the midwest summers. (sigh) I could not imagine living where there were few or no tall trees.

In those years, my favorite tree was the weeping willow. They thrilled me, because I could hide beneath them and dream or read. They were mysterious and made me feel that way, too. Unfortunately, we never had one in our backyard for that alone would have kept me outside. (Dad never understood why I preferred curling up in a chair and reading.)

Trees are beautiful and oh so useful – they give us oxygen, shade, fruit, lumber, toilet paper, matches, toothpicks, and writing paper.  The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein is a wonderful book I love sharing with my grandchildren. On the other hand, I truly deplore relentless unregulated/unecological deforestation and clear cutting

Many years ago I visited Seattle, WA for the first time. My hosts proudly showed off the alluring scenery of the Pacific Ocean, salmon rivers/streams, and the Cascade and Olympic Mountains. All was well until I saw clear cutting on the side of a Cascade mountain. Huge bare areas where trees used to be. (Not unlike farmers who clear their land for crops or developers who scrape away the trees for subdivisions.) I was appalled. How could they do that? Trees don’t grow back in a day or a year. It was obvious that these hundreds of acres had not been replanted, so there wouldn’t be any trees there ever again. Sadly, clear cutting and deforestation takes place all over the world.

Mankind is so spoiled and selfish. We take and take and take until there is almost nothing left. We deplete every resource we can get our hands on and cause extinction without conscience. If God’s purpose for allowing homo sapiens to flourish was to take good care of this planet and everything on it, then we have certainly dropped the ball – big time!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trees, trees, trees

  1. jennibug says:

    I enjoyed your two posts about trees – I love them too. My mom has a couple Shel Silverstein books as well, and I always liked reading them. I vaguely remember “The Giving Tree.” Anyway, I like the way you incorporate pictures into your posts – always makes the read more interesting. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

