A Growing Family Tree

We have always thought our immediate family to be large with six siblings, aunts, uncles, nieces, nephews, and cousins. But, three weeks ago our brother-in-law, Joe Shepard, revealed an extensive family tree on our mother’s side of the family. We have always known we were of German, English, and Irish descent, but our lineage also includes a Cherokee grandmother from Georgia. We are very proud of that!

The names that Joe retrieved were only parents of parents of parents – no siblings; therefore, our tree is lacking many more relatives. Below is a list of the names on Mom’s side of the family. If anybody out there has anyone of these names in their family tree, please contact us.

The Kratz side of the family is very sparse. Mom says that no one ever talked about them. She never knew her grandfather’s name until recently. Her Dad had ten brothers and sisters. We only knew four of them in Jeffersonville, IN. It was neat visiting with them in the summers and meeting Mom’s cousins.

I’ll start at Mom’s parents and go back from there: Edwin Sylvester Kratz(8/12/1894-Jan.1977), Edith Leap(1902-1958), William C. Kratz(1856-1910), Louisa Petter(1857-?), Joseph Petter(1857/Germany-?), Regina ? Petter(1832/Germany-?), Charles Henry Leap(1875-1925), Hattie Latonia Nicholson(1875-1950), Charles W. Leap(1852-1930), Mary Ann Tull(1856-1937), Samuel Leap(1815-1877), Mary Percilla Postum, Gabriel Leap(1778-1877), Jane Courtney(5/10/1784, Ireland-1867), John Wesley Leap(born 4/15/1735 in Mannheim, Germany as John Wesley Lieb -died 9/16/1845 in Fayette, Indiana), Margaret B. Crow(1748, Penn.-1799). John Wesley Leap had four children by Margaret Crow. After she died, he remarried at age 79 and had six more children by Sarah Barbara DeLeow in Switzerland County, Indiana. Gabriel Leap is our ancestor by Margaret Crow. We have no other information on Sarah DeLeow and her family.

Gabriel’s wife, Jane Courtney, lineage: Robert Courtney(1757, Ireland-1867), Mary Bodley(1760, Ireland-1832), Thomas DeLaCourtney(1728, Ireland-1811), spouse Dawson(1732, Ireland-1757, probably giving birth to Robert).

Are you still with me? Mary Ann Tull’s lineage: Samuel Handy Tull, II(Oct. 1825, Jefferson Co., IN-9/10/1907, Hanover, IN), Harriet Vaughn(June 1831-8/21/1910), William Tull(9/13/1802, Woodford Co., KY-3/1/1876, Kent, Jefferson Co., KY), Eleanor Merrill(7/4/1802-3/16/1866), Samuel Handy Tull, I(1746-1830), Nancy Wallace(1782-1844), Thomas Tull(1704-1758), Rachael ? Tull(1711-1760), Thomas Tull(1668-1720), Sarah Handy(1681-1728), Samuel Handy(1646 Tanworth, England-5/15/1721), Mary Sewell(1658-8/7/1716), Thomas Sewell(1630, England-3/14/1689, Somerset, MD), Jane Lowell(1630, England-1690).

Okay, one more branch to go…Hattie’s bloodline: John Wm. Nicholson(1834-1905), Elmira Koons(1837-1912), Green Nicholson(1808-1856), Ellenor Iseley(1813-1870), ? male Nicholson married TaCah/Sarah DoKey, a Cherokee from Etowah River in Georgia. George Koons, Elmira’s dad, married her mother, Mary Aughenbaugh on 2/20/1834. Isaac Koons(1760-1830), Margaret Schwartz(1771-1833), John Schwartz(1738, Germany-June 1791), Elizabeth Oldweider(1742, Germany-1797).

That’s it. So, if you have managed to wade through the names, perhaps you recognize an ancestor of yours….Love to know!

Ancestry is not just about names, dates, and places. It is not just for old people to mull over, either. Family trees/bloodlines are important for medical histories. Finding out to whom you are related can lead to vital, maybe even life-saving, information. At this time, we know only that Mother’s DNA history is significant for asthma and heart disease. There could be much more.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A Growing Family Tree

  1. jennibug says:

    Love that picture!!!

    Like

  2. Kenn Lee says:

    My Grandmother was Sarah Alice Leap, We trace back to Samuel Leap which is where I believe our trees connect. I haven’t done much genealogy, but ran into this as a result of one of my daughters classroom assignments. It appears that this lineage takes us back to Germany on John Leaps side and Ireland on Jane Courtney’s side.

    Like

    • cyranette says:

      Hi! This is very cool. Do you know the story of John Wesley Leap/Lieb? Where are you located?

      Like

    • cyranette says:

      Yes, Samuel Wesley Leap married Mary Postum and my ancester from that marriage was Charles Wesley Leap for whom we do not have the names of any siblings. Samuel was the son of Gabriel Leap and Jane Courtney. We do not have any of his siblings either. Gabriel was the son of John Wesley Leap(Lieb) and Margaret Crow. Not knowing the siblings of any of these people is very frustrating.

      Like

      • Kelli says:

        Hi! I am a 9th generation Leap. (John Wesley Leap1, Gabriel Leap2, Samuel Wesley Leap3, George W Leap4, Ernest M. Leap5, Harold H. Leap6, Harold D. Leap7, Harold D. Leap8, and myself.) If you are still looking for information on Samuel and his siblings, I can try to help. Gabriel had eight children. In our collection of family information, it lists Samuel as having been married three times. Mary Postum was his second wife. Charles is also listed in our records, but later descendants of his are not as up-to-date. I even have a picture of Samuel and Gabriel; as well as pictures of Samuel’s headstone. I would be interested in learning more about Charles Wesley side of the family. It’s always interesting to learn more about the family. 🙂 Thank you!

        Like

  3. Pingback: 2010 in review | Cyranette's Blog

  4. Bill Rowe says:

    Hi,

    Elizabeth Oldweider is one my distant relatives too. Her granddaugher Elizabeth Shane married Peter Rowe.

    Cheers,

    Bill

    Like

  5. Eric Newman says:

    Hello Cyranette,
    Just wanted to add that I am from the John W. Leap family of Boone County, Indiana. My grandmother was Mildred Leap of Colfax, Indiana, just north of Fayette. She married Leonard Newman of Putnam County, IN. I have been to the Mt. Tabor Cemetery several times.

    Like

    • Cyranette says:

      This is fantastic, Eric. My husband and I visited there last month and met Larry Leap, a descendant of Isaac Leap, a son from John W. Leap’s second marriage. Thank you for the information.

      Like

  6. Pingback: Leap Cousin Quest | Cyranette's Blog

  7. Skye says:

    My name is Marsha Koontz – a direct descendant of – Isaac Koons(1760-1830), Margaret Schwartz(1771-1833), John Schwartz(1738, Germany-June 1791), Elizabeth Oldweider(1742, Germany-1797).

    Like

  8. Robert says:

    I was told by my father that owr name was changed to Post. this is where CW Post named his cereal Postum brand. I am Robert James Post and was born in Indianapolis, grandfather was Robert James Post from Buffalo, NY. area.

    Like

  9. Peggy Braz says:

    The family I am researching is John Leap>Gabriel>Robert>Caroline. I can’t seem to find evidence that Caroline is Robert’s daughter. She married William Robinson in 1844 and later Allen Robinson who I believe is William’s brother. They moved to KY, I would appreciate any info on Caroline, especially her relationship to her father. Thanks.

    Like

  10. RHenry says:

    I Think we are have some of the same family i will start with Evan Nicholson and TaCah,Green Nicholson,James J. nicholson,General Malachi Nicholson,to may Grand mother Rosa Mae Nicholson
    Email R.henry@aa.com

    Like

  11. cathywoodosborn says:

    My Kinsey cousin has a match who is descended from Isaac Koons and Margaret Schwartz. Have you done the Family Finder test with Family Tree DNA, by any chance?

    Like

    • Cyranette says:

      Hi Cathy. I sent off my DNA sample through Ancestry.com a few weeks ago. However, I’m not sure what the results are supposed to show. Will they will be very specific about the Leap side or more generalized? I did a family tree on Ancestry, but I wish it could include all siblings/aunts/uncles, etc. Limiting families to just parental generations seems inadequate.

      Like

      • cathywoodosborn says:

        It depends on whether your genetic matches have uploaded a tree that lists your common ancestor.

        Like

      • cathywoodosborn says:

        Ancestry does not provide tools with which to analyze your dna; however, you can download your raw data to gedmatch.com or dnagedcom.com and take advantage of their valuable tools to compare to people who have tested with all three major testing companies. If I understand correctly, after Ancestry determines that your dna matches another tester, they look at the trees of both people to see a common ancestor, then they place both of you in a ‘circle’ for that person. They do not take into consideration that you could have more than one common ancestor, which happens fairly often.

        Like

  12. Amy Rudd says:

    Hi Cyranette,
    I just googled Isaac Koons, as he is my 4th great grandfather through my Paternal great grandmother, Lucy Koons Long. I actually have several letters, deeds and other papers dating to 1830 that belonged to her grandfather that were passed down to me from my grandfather, John Long. He was also born and raised in Indiana, Charlestown, Clark Co, to be specific. Unfortunately I have not been able to go back beyond Isaac Koons Sr. born 1760 in Lancaster Co, PA but do know all of his and Margaret’s children’s names. I would love to find who his parents were and when they immigrated. If you have been able to find anything else, please be so kind as to let me know.
    All the best,
    Amy Long Rudd
    amyrudd@comcast.net

    Like

Leave a Reply

