Medical Transcription

Over a year ago, I began a medical transciption course. After several months of looking online for a course that would result in my being able to work from home, I chose Career Step’s outstanding program. I was impressed with the founder, the extensiveness of the coursework, and the claim that its graduates were sought after  as top-notch transcribers. As I near the end of my training, I must tell you that the practicum part of the course is very intense. So far, I have transcribed 820 (out of 850) actual dictated reports from various medical professionals:  Clinic notes, consultations, operative reports, procedure notes, radiology reports, emergency room reports, death summaries, discharge summaries, progress notes, delivery notes, and more. It has been extremely interesting learning all the medical terminology and recognizing familiar dictators in their special fields:  Radiology, cardiology, obstetrics, orthopedics, podiatry, endocrinology, ophthamolog, oncology, gynocology, gastroenterology, psychiatry, otorhinolaryngology, neurology, urology, plastic surgery, pediatrics, dermatology, internal medicine, pathology, and more.

This has been an extremely thorough course involving learning about medicine from the ground up. There is a medical term for everything, i.e.:  Cerumen is ear wax; emesis is vomiting; diaphoresis is sweating. A couple of the longer terms I have learned are hepatosplenomegaly and esophagogastroduodenoscopy. Transcriptionists have to know almost as much as doctors and nurses do in order to correctly and efficiently decipher and type what is being said or at least to know where to look for a specific term or phrase. I have at hand eleven medical dictionaries/reference books, eight large notebooks of reports, and many medical websites bookmarked for such searches. I really enjoy looking up and making note of new terms and meanings.

Transcriptionists also have to be proficient at editing, because doctors do not always use proper grammar/punctuation and sometimes give incorrect medications and/or dosing. Each medical report goes into a patient’s file and MUST be accurate for the patient’s future health and well-being.

I am grateful to Career Step for the opportunity it has given to me to become an important part of the medical field. I am looking forward to utilizing my knowledge and abilities as a working medical transcriptionist. Have foot pedal and headphone, will not need to travel!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Medical Transcription

  1. jennibug says:

    That’s awesome!! WOW! Sounds like hard work – and you must be very patient!!!

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing such important information regarding transcription. Your blog is very informative and helpful. Keep up the good stuff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

