Kicking Oneself

Man-oh-man-oh-man! I do not know why I haven’t written down the author and name of every book I have ever read. Why did it not occur to me that some day I might want to know exactly how many books I had read and why I had liked them? The first plausible answer would be that as soon as I was finished with one book, I was ready to start another. Right now I cannot think of a second or third answer.

I do have two relatively short lists of books and authors that I cannot get enough of. (I protest never ending a sentence with a preposition!!) Those rare books that you hate to finish, those you wished went on forever because they were so interesting and well written. (sighhhh) If I had been able to keep every book that I wanted to reread or refer to, there would be no room in the house for furniture. So, Danny and I have just kept the best of the best. I have sadly donated hundreds of books to libraries, Goodwill Industries, and nursing homes. I really hate to part with books, for my dream home includes a two-story library with tall windows, windowseats, one of those sliding ladders, and maybe a walkway/balcony. (sighhh) If I had kept a list of those gently discarded books, I would have been able to fill our library in no time. Danny would prefer to repurchase books than drag them from house to house to house in heavy boxes.

Although he poo-poos all the books I want to keep, he has quite a collection going himself. His night table is the resting place of 3 to 5 books that he is reading at the same time. (I do not like to do that.) Unless a book is extremely unputdownable, he will read a few sentences or paragraphs of one book and the next night he’ll read from another book. Why does he read so little before sleep? He’s just really tired at the end of the day, and his eyes are tired from construction sites and computering. (This wonderful man of mine will take off his glasses, turn out his light, give me a kiss goodnight, and be asleep in 10 seconds or less. It’s incredible!)

But, back to my premise…Everytime I return a library book or drop off a box of read books, I mentally kick myself for not having taken the time to write the details down. It’s a small thing, right? And we aren’t supposed to sweat the small stuff. 

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kicking Oneself

  1. jennibug says:

    Loooove the picture of the library you included!! I’ve always dreamed of having that in a home someday, too 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

