Great-grandmahood

Harley Quinn is my mother’s 22nd great-grandbaby. Eight are my grandchildren and fourteen are my sister Leslie’s grandchildren. I can tell you right now that I will NEVER catch up to Leslie. She’s the grandma queen of this family. I am perfectly satisfied with my eight, while Leslie is probably going to have a few more. Four of her five kids are lovely daughters. Our other siblings have sons/daughters who are either too young or are not interested in procreation. The latter are ignoring their biological clocks. What does that imply about their views of love, marriage, and family? It’s a quandry.

Some of Mom’s great-grandchildren live in Alaska and Africa, so she does not see them often. The newest ones she only has photos of. Yet, she loves them all right away. Her eyes sparkle with joy everytime she holds a new one. Her closet is filled with toys for the older ones who come visit more often.

From Mom we learned about love. Endless, unequivocal love. Although she did not have time for giving much individual attention as the six of us were growing up, we never doubted we were loved. Our grandchildren know they are loved and cherished. Great-grandma gives them all hugs and kisses when they rush through her front door shouting, “Grandma!” 

We know Mom’s energy at 82 isn’t what it used to be, but she never says no when they want to visit. She loves all of us so well. My children – Judson, Tyler, and Merideth – felt her love first and are eager to introduce their children to her (and Dad). That is why it puzzles me that some of my nieces and nephews haven’t rushed into parenthood. I feel sorry for my grandchildless siblings. Mom is the matriarch; her heart welcomes all. But, she is not going to live forever. Haven’t they considered that and what their children will miss by not having known her?

I, on the other hand, have no problem waiting to become a great-grandmother. I am more than content with grandmahood. Hopefully, the next stage will be at least 15 years away.

Mom’s grandmother, Mom Leap, was only around for a couple years after I was born. I never had a great-grandfather.

(I mean no offense to my Dad or Danny with this post. They are terrific great-grandfather/grandfathers, but babies do not stir them up like they do the women in our family.)

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

