Needing a Drink

God, I could use a drink! Once in a while I would like to just let go and escape from the stress and worry, to let loose and have an artificially-induced good time. Not that I ever did that very often – maybe once every year or so over the past twenty years? – but having that option taken away from me eighteen months ago has been a real drag lately.  

In January 2009, after the gastroenterologist cauterized my bleeding ulcer and infused me with five units of blood, I was given instructions for the rest of my life:  No alcohol, carbonated beverages, aspirin, or spicy food; and take omeprazole(Prilosec) every day. There went my monthly beer or vodka tonic or mudslide and my only-at-the-movies Coca-Cola. That left me with water, milk, juice, coffee, and tea. Oh, and fattening milkshakes or smoothies. Whoopee!

Sometimes you need to relieve stress and anxiety. Sometimes you need to celebrate. Sometimes you just need a drink! What do you do when you cannot take off on a relaxing vacation? Meditate? I don’t think so. Grin and bear it? Maybe on the inside, ’cause it sure doesn’t show on the outside.

I can do fun for fun’s sake, but it just isn’t the same as fun with a little loopy freedom. And, when I need to drown my sorrows, tears alone just don’t cut it. They drain me, leaving me limp as a dying carnation. The stupor of a couple drinks fogs my brain and lets me sleep.

But, noooo, not anymore. Thanks to my traitorous stomach, I have to face the utter ups and devastating downs of life with only my wits (shudder). Although I used to have a few drinks once in a while to dance the night away, I never really enjoyed being out of control. My last hangover was 30 years ago.

So, since I’m not an alcoholic or a craver of chemicals, I guess I really don’t need a crutch or even a cane. I am truly blessed with Danny, our children/grandchildren, and a large and loving family. We gather together to enjoy life and to console one another. We eat, some drink, and we’re merry – most of the time.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Needing a Drink

  1. JenniBug says:

    I enjoyed this post Monnie! Made me laugh! 🙂 Alcohol never did much for me… I’ve NEVER even been drunk, because before I ever get to that point, I get too sleepy and lose interest in everything but going home and getting in my bed! Lol!

    Like

Leave a Reply

