An Idyllic Life

I’m a boomer, a Cinderella girl. Although I’ve found my Prince Charming, I still dream of a special place…

The almost too-steep mountain road ends at our driveway, which winds through the 50 acres of evergreens, maples, oaks, and birches to our home looking out over a vast river valley or ocean (I’m not picky) another few acres away. The view is spectacular, of course. Not another house visible for miles until winter comes and smoke from fireplaces spirals up hither and yon through the treetops. Peace reigns.

A few narrow trails snake off in different directions from the surrounding landscaped homesite. One will take you to a small guest cabin, which we sometimes advertise as a writer’s/artist’s retreat, with a little brook running nearby. Another trail stretches for miles through the unfenced forest with sub-trails in several directions to more spectacular views; while a third takes you down to the river or ocean where a rocky beach awaits.

The two-story, arts-and-crafts bungalow cannot be seen from anywhere except by plane or satellite or perhaps extra strong binoculars from asea or across the mountain range/valley. It is secure in its solitude. There is a wide veranda out front, where visitors enter off the circular driveway. Danny and I park in the semi-detached garage/workshop off to the side and enter the house via the breezeway into the kitchen/great room with a twenty-foot ceiling and a wall of windows for the view. There is a vast deck as well, of course.

The master suite and floor-to-ceiling English-type library are downstairs, while a wide staircase leads upstairs to a dormitory room for the grandchildren and two adult bedrooms – all with their own bathrooms. There is an abundance of storage space and every built-in imaginable. The 2400 sq.ft. house is well-insulated and as green-energy efficient as possible. We love having family and friends visit – but not too often.

From the deck and the breezeway, wide stepping-stone paths take us to an enclosed pool with slide and diving board (I hate that public pools no longer have these.) behind the garage. The temperature in this idyllic place varies from 50s to 70s year-round. (Really dreaming here!)

And so, travelling throughout Europe accomplished, we pass our final years in the best of circumstances – writing, painting, reading, swimming, hiking, woodworking, sewing, gardening, and listening to music. (major sighhhhh)

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

