No More Creaks

One of the best, yet difficult to get used to, things about this new home is the quiet flooring. Most of the house is carpet-over-slab, while the other areas have large stone tiles. There is no noise.

We left old wooden floors behind. Floors that creaked at every step. Creaks that alerted you of someone nearby. But now, Danny and I startle each other all the time. We don’t intentionally sneak up on each other. We are alone one second and then right behind one another or bumping into each other the next.

The last time, Danny said I was going to give him a heart attack and I needed a bell. Maybe I’ll start humming, but he won’t be able to hear that either. I can’t whistle and I am not getting a bell. I do have a jingly bracelet, though… But, he’s no better at announcing himself. I’ve been in the kitchen and he’ll ask me a question right by my good ear or I don’t see hear him come home and there he is in the doorway. I jump and squeal! It’s spooky but appropriate for the season. Hopefully, we’ll work out an alert system – BOO!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No More Creaks

  1. Jenni says:

    This made me laugh!!!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

