The Eyes Have It

As I lay in the dark this morning, contemplating getting up, I try opening my eyes. Nope. They have ten-ton weights holding them down. Although my brain begins to ideate, my eyes do not agree that it’s uppie time. So, I remain abed as a little battle is waged within my body. However, I already know the outcome – the eyes have it!

I cannot get out of bed or read until my eyes are ready to stay open. It doesn’t matter in the least to them that my thoughts are in motion. Even though my brain is in full throttle, my eyelids cannot be forced apart…

Brain: It’s time to get up.
Eyes: We’re not ready.
Brain: There’s light at the windows.
Eyes: We cannot see it with our lids closed.
Brain: There’s lots to do today.
Eyes: Irrelevant. We’re still tired.
Brain: Fine! Be that way! I’ll just ramble on until you’re forced to face the day.
Eyes: Is that a threat?
Brain: Absolutely. I am alert and raring to go. You can’t hold me back.
Eyes: There’s nothing you can say to get us to open up.
Brain: Oh, yeah? Well, remember that great Halloween party we had last week? Remember those costumes that delighted you? Weren’t they just perfect?


Eyes: We remember. Very creative. They gave you joy, didn’t they?
Brain: Yep…Too bad Merideth and the kids weren’t here.
Eyes: Yes, it was. They had fantastic costumes last year.


Brain: Remember when Calvin spent the night for the first time.
Eyes: He was about three.
Brain: Yes, and he woke up before dawn and came into our bedroom.
Eyes: He wanted to know if it was time to get up yet and you said, “Not until the sky is blue.”
Brain: I felt that was very clever of me.
Eyes: Quite.
Brain: Then he climbed into bed with us and was quiet for a while.
Eyes: I was thrilled and you tried to get back to sleep.
Brain: I sort of did, until a bit later, when he whispered…
Eyes: “Grandma, it’s blue out.”
Brain: He was so cute.
Eyes: That’s what you taught all of them to say until they got older.
Brain: (sigh) Yeah, time flies.
Eyes: They don’t stay little long enough.
Brain: You ready now?
Eyes: Might as well. You won’t leave us alone.
Brain: Great! It’s the end of daylight savings time. We get an extra hour in bed.
Eyes: Hooray! Let’s read.
Brain: You got it!

…Speaking of daylight savings time:  PHOOEY ON IT! Congress, fire the lobbyist who lives in D.C. and is paid $80K to keep daylight savings time renewed every year. (Is there anybody out there unaware of that?) Speak about government and big business meddling in our lives! Who do they think they are? Not every state or city abides by DST – good for them! The natural law of things should not be messed with. At least now, most children do not have to go to school in the dark.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Eyes Have It

  1. Lynne says:

    Enjoyed escaping with you sister…..love that blue sky and love those grandkids of yours too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

