Favorite seasons

I’m sure that when asked what their favorite season is most people would say summer. Not me. I do not like heat. I do not like relentless sun. I do not like all the extra traffic and kids out of school. Bah, humbug! (grin)

Nope, I love the stark coldness of winter, sweater weather. Bundle up and stay warm. Frosty breaths. Coming in out of the cold. Flickering fireplaces. Christmas lights. It’s a magical time. The year is ending and snow is a very faint possibility here.

Everyone should experience the pure, glistening whiteness of new snow, snowballs, snowmen, and icicles sparkling at least once in their lives. I grew up in Indianapolis and, although we may not have had a white Christmas every year, we at least had two or three good snows every winter. We would take our sleds to nearby small hills and slide down, trudge back up, and slide down over and over again. Then, home we would go to remove our wet mittens and boots, take off our snow clothes, stand on floor registers, warm our noses, and drink hot chocolate. Those days disappeared once we moved to Corpus Christi, Texas in 1961.

One side of the family caravaned to Cloudcroft, New Mexico in 1986 and experienced tubing down steep hills, snow-mobiling, skiing, and making snow angles. It was a grand time. We had rented a house for a week and each individual family took turns cooking. There was no television, so in the evenings we played games. Cloudcroft is very family oriented and has no liquor stores; there is only one bar.

I like to bundle up. I like to cover my body. In the winter you can warm up with clothes, blankets, snuggling, fireplaces. In the summer you can only cool off so much, can go naked and still be hot. I could spend every minute in a cold shower and still sweat as I’m drying off. Ugh.

Another good thing about winter is the lack of bugs. They all go aground…By the end of February, I’m ready for spring – my favorite month.

Spring, where neon green is rampant, blossoms bloom, and new life begins. Sun is welcome. Temperatures are perfect. Shorts can be donned. Tans can begin. Smiles abound in spring. Gardens are resurrected, hanging baskets enhance porches and patios. Life has been renewed.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

