The Shocking Truth

With the cold fronts and lack of rain come lower humidity. In Texas we’re used to lots of it. Humidity volumizes my hair, while frizzes my sister’s and my daughter’s. It makes heat unbearable, but it lowers static electricity. (There are pros and cons to just about everything, aren’t there?)

Static electricity shocks. It is why there are warnings at gas stations. When it’s humid or raining, you don’t have to worry about the possibility of a spark igniting the gas tank. If you don’t think static electricity causes a spark, then you haven’t seen it in action in the dark. Its crackle and shock should alert you. Rub a balloon on a head of hair and it sticks out. The balloon will also stick to a wall.

When Jud and Tyler were in elementary school, they thought it was really funny to slide around on the carpet and shock each other, their sister, and me during the winter. Tyler still finds it extremely amusing to shock his older son, niece, nephews, and other kids. 

Well, I find it not amusing in the least. Being shocked always ticks me off. Whether it’s touching a door knob or saying hello/goodbye to the grandkids. Getting zapped for hugging or kissing is not delightful. Tiny though the zap may be, it is still annoying. Whenever I took/take the toddlers in the family to the park, I cringe when they wanted to go down the plastic slides. There would be that darn shock as I caught them at the end. Luckily, it never made them cry.

At the grocery store, no matter what the time of year, I get shocked every time I open a freezer door. I try holding onto the basket, but it must not be made of real metal because the zap happens anyway. Nobody else seems to be jumping in surprise, which makes me very self-conscious and curse silently. I have taken to carrying around a piece of rubber normally used for opening jars. It seemed to help stop the shocks, until last week. Then, even it failed me. What do I have to do to stop this shocking business. Buy a recycled-tire-soled sandal? Where do I find those this time of year? Go to a flat tire fixer and ask for a scrap of dirty tire? How could it be made small enough to put into my purse so that I could hold onto it as I shop? None of my walking shoes have real rubber for I still get shocked while wearing them. What’s a grandma to do?

Stay in bed? Keep my hands in my pockets? Stop brushing my hair? Wait until the humidity comes back?

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

