The Last Three Weeks

Today is 1/1/11. The last three weeks of 2010 were fretful, stressful, anticipatory, and busy. Thus, my silence…I was baking, buying, trimming, hosting, and wrapping. I sent out cards and took in the grandkids. We rushed and fussed, oohed and ahhed, ate and groaned. (The kitchen is still filled with cookies and candy that people keep bringing by.)

Mom(82) made it through Christmas, despite needing a transfusion on the 19th for her cold agglutinin disease. Dad(84) had been feeling more tired of late, which had him napping three times on Christmas day. Because of her cancer treatments, instead of going to Denver, our daughter-in-law, Amy, and Jud stayed home this year with their two girls(Ripley 2 years, Harley 4 months). They were joined by Amy’s parents from Houston and her brother who lives in Prague. We were so glad that they all came over to Mom/Dad’s on Christmas day.

My sister, Leslie, and her husband drove from Tennessee to be with us also, because all of their children and grandchildren were going elsewhere. Our other son, Tyler, his wife, Tracy, their two boys(Carlo 7, Oliver 2), and Tracy’s parents from California were here as well. Our daughter, Merideth, got off work on the 23rd and joined her children(Calvin 11, Lizzie 10, Ben 6) at our house. All together, there were 32 of us at Mom/Dad’s on Christmas day. As we were leaving, Mom told me, “I can’t do this anymore.” I couldn’t agree more. It’s way past the time that we siblings(ages 63 to 52) began to rotate having the Christmas chaos at our houses with Mom and Dad joining us

A cold struck my holiday immuneless system and I was abed from Tuesday to Thursday. So, yesterday I took down the tree and returned the ornaments and home decorations to their boxes. I was more-than-ready to pack up 2010 and open 2011.

Today dawned afresh and I vowed to enjoy it, along with the other 364 days to follow. Danny and I went to the movies and had a yummy chocolate malt afterwards.

Best wishes to all and to all a good night…

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

