Miscellaneous Thoughts

*Over the weekend, there was news of bullying taken to the extreme – death of a teenage girl. The parents of the bullies should be held accountable. Children nutured with love and respect do not treat others unkindly. Children raised without boundaries, responsibilities, and a sense of right/wrong will lash out and be mean to others to offset their feelings of low self-esteem and worthlessness.

*Winter’s gray bleakness can stifle you into apathy, press you down into depression – not unlike the smothering heat and humidity of summer. I tolerate winter better than summer. In winter, there’s nothing like crisp sunshine. If I get cold, I layer on a couple sweaters or wear a thick coat, gloves, and earmuffs. When I get hot, I can only unlayer down to my skin. Cold showers are brief relief.

*I miss football already. My fantasy team came in fifth out of twelve teams. We will try to have only ten teams next season; twelve teams decimate the drafting possibilities…The playoffs have started and the games are fewer in number. After the superbowl, there will be nothing for six months!!! I know playing football is hard on the players’ bodies, but can’t the league expand the number of teams/players/games and thus the season? Oh, woe is me!

*Politics and religion, two subjects you aren’t supposed to discuss with family. Irreparable damage can be  done…So, in family gatherings, I refrain, although it’s really quite amazing to me that we don’t have the same opinions.or think alike. We were all brought up the same…It’s our genes, I suppose, that make the difference and determine our personalities. I’m quiet and introspective, while two of my sisters are very gregarious and funny.

*I’m sick of how politicians act. It takes a tragedy to get their attention and tone down their rhetoric, albeit temporarily.

*Why doesn’t Congress listen to economic experts – Warren Buffett, Alan Greenspan, Paul Volcker, etc. – and act accordingly to better reverse the recession? Why are they still blaming Obama for everything and continuing to listen to lobbyists and special interest groups? Why do we still have deregulation and tax loopholes on the books? Why on earth do so many people think that electing different politicians will change anything? The economy that has been torn asunder cannot be restored in four years, let alone two. Why do so many people listen to so many ill-informed, truth-denying elected officials and the biased media who don’t know squat but want you to think that they have the solutions…They are the same idiots who want to overturn the health bill that has helped millions of children receive health care.

*The state of this country’s educational system is shameful. All schools should have the same materials, supplies, facilities, and great teachers. All parents should encourage and support their children in school. There should be fewer administrators, and teachers’ salaries should be doubled. Responsible deportment and uniforms should be mandated. That any school has to have security cameras/detectors is absolutely appalling, a sad commentary on our declining social morality.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

