Winter Blahs

*It has been raining/sprinkling for three days. The grayness has begun to infiltrate my body, making me want to stay abed to alternately read, nap, watch football, nap the whole day long.

It’s weather like this that keeps kids from using their energy and being able to unwind, causing chaos in the house. And perhaps impatience…Mom hated these days in Indiana, when we were growing up and couldn’t go outside, when it wasn’t cold enough for snow and sledding. While I quietly read or helped Mom, the other five siblings were testing her patience to the max. However, we did spend a lot of time in the warm basement, rollerskating or playing in giant cardboard boxes that Dad had made into houses and stores.

*January holds birthdays for my son Tyler, my niece Katie, my niece-in-law Marisa, and my nephew Richard. For Tyler’s birthday on Friday, I baked a strawberry and pineapple cobbler, which he requested. Everyone said it was very good, much to my surprise, since I’d never made one before and my cookbooks did not have that particular fruity combination.

*Egad, what happened to the Falcons? Did they peak too soon? Were they too confident? What a drag! I was really expecting the superbowl to be New England vs Atlanta. On the other hand, if fantasy football was still going on, I would have been ecstatic over Aaron Rodgers super duper points.

I was also hoping Baltimore would beat the Steelers, ’cause Roethlisberger’s a #1 jerk who should have been benched for the whole season sans pay…So, yesterday was definitely a disappointing football day. Atlanta and Baltimore, your defensive teams let me down, dudes!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winter Blahs

  1. margaret says:

    I really enjoyed this snow but not the ice. My family and I spent time drving to the store to get food that my husband continue to say we needed lol…

    Like

  2. Julia says:

    Great post. I really liked how you touched on how certain memories from the past that you associate with the seasons can affect your mood in the present. For a lot of people, winter brings up feelings of tiredness, depression, fatigue and irritability. These emotions, coupled with winter’s relative lack of sunlight, can stir up both positive and negative memories and make winter a definite “emotional hotspot.” If you want to know more, I actually helped write a book about this topic called “The Emotional Calendar.” Working on the book helped me discover new ways to manage my moods during the changing seasons and find strategies to beat the winter blahs.

    Julia

    ditchtheumbrella.wordpress.com

    Like

    • cyranette says:

      Thank you very much, Julia…One of my sister’s used to live in Seattle and had to have one of those solar lights to keep her from getting depressed in the winter. That she also is bipolar probably didn’t help. She would like it to be sunny everyday, whereas I don’t mind a rainy day of rest or exciting thunderstorm.

      Like

Leave a Reply

