A Satisfactory Day

I awoke and there was sunshine.

I wrote and was appreciated.

I cleaned the house and was proud.

I shopped and found what I needed.

I donated and was blessed.

I read and discovered a good author.

I napped and was refreshed.

I watched the grandchildren and was hugged.

I cooked and there were no leftovers.

I went to bed and there was my love.

Oh my, this wasn’t what I intended to write at all. Last night I jotted down the title, after having a mostly good day… 

To break away from the damp grayness, Danny and I went to the McNay Art Museum in San Antonio to take in the grand display of landscapes by 19th and 20th century Impressionists on the last day they would be there. Then, we watched a fabulous movie, “The King’s Speech” at the Bijou theater. On the way home, Danny listened to NPR, while I basked in the lingering pleasure of the film. It touched me so very deeply. I was sad for the king and his upbringing, as well as for the whole British system of boarding schools and stiffness. (I can’t imagine not being allowed to be affectionate.) I wanted everyone with a social problem or disability to see this movie and either persevere to overcome it or accept it and love themselves despite what anybody else says or does. Overall, I was filled with contentment for a movie well written, directed, and performed.

We pulled into the driveway of our dark house, as I had anticipated being home before the sun went down and seeing the last football game of the day. Instead the game was over and, oh-my-god, the Patriots had lost! (How could that be? Brady had roared back in 2010 like a lion after being out all of 2009.) So, I made some chili, and we watched Masterpiece Theater’s “Downton Abbey,” filled with more aristocrats and tons of servants. 

As we called it a night, I thought about the day and previous few days. I wanted to put into words what made me feel satisfied with my ordinary life and imagined a lengthy essay, but out popped this sparse poem. Go figure!

I experienced beauty and was awed…

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Satisfactory Day

  1. Jenni says:

    Awwww MONNIE! This just absolutely made my heart happy for you!!! 🙂 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

