Sex Trafficking and Abuse

Prostitution should be legal. It’s not new and it certainly isn’t going away. If women want to sell their bodies, let them, but cut out the procurers, the pimps/madams. That being said, children have no place in the sex business. They are being used, abused, manipulated, and, worst of all, robbed of their childhood. Castration should be the penalty for sex offenders and traffickers.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/us_super_bowl_sex_trade Did you read this article today? Did you span through the comments? I was appalled at the crassness of some of the commenters. One mentioned that menstruation starts three years earlier than it did in 1900. So what!?!?! That does not give license to molesting underage girls.

Others talked about not getting what they wanted from women in their lives. So, ya know what? If all a man wants from marriage is instant or constant sex, then he should not get married. If sex is all he thinks about, then he needs therapy or to be put in a room to amuse himself until part of him falls off. In fact, give him all the ecstasy he wants. Heck, throw in some of that four-hour ED stuff! That these losers made snide remarks about this article and weren’t bothered by the sex trafficking of children, makes me grateful they aren’t reproducing. Who would have them?!

Sex is supposed to be about enjoyment and fulfillment for both participants, but too often it is about instant gratification and rape. Sex is also about procreation, which can be so rewarding for those who really want children to love and care for. The children who are kidnapped, drugged, and sold as sex slaves probably were not born into a nuturing environment, which is a sad commentary on society in itself.

Yet, sex traffickers are not the lowest of the low. The worst are the men who buy, use, and abuse children. Shame, shame, shame on you!  I do not, cannot understand this abhorrent perversion and cruelty. It turns my stomach and makes me very, very angry. Too bad they cannot be instantly recognized and humiliated. I wish there were still pillories, where offenders could be left in town squares or on street corners with notices of what they had done plastered all over them. But that is too tame a punishment for these foul human beings. Let’s hurry up and build prisons on the moon and send them there to rot!

Not all perverts pay for sex. I was once called to jury duty in a small town. All prospective jurors were given the facts of the case:  A young man was divorced from his young wife. They had an 18-month-old boy. The mother left the boy with the father for a few hours when she could not find anyone else. The father had genital warts. The baby developed genital warts in his mouth shortly after being in his father’s care. The mother and Child Protective Services wanted to keep the father from ever seeing his son again. Then, one by one we were called into the judge’s chamber and asked if we thought we could hear the case without prejudice and deliver an objective verdict. I said, “Absolutely not. He needs to go to jail.” The judge and attorneys dismissed me from duty. I have no idea if they ever found enough people for that jury.

One of my friends was sexually abused by her father starting at age 11. It was not reported. Her mother allowed it to happen.

One day, when I was twelve, my elderly piano teacher patted my knee and gave me a little book with nasty pictures in it. He asked me to take a bus and meet him in downtown Indianapolis on Saturday. After he left, I gave the book to my parents and told them of the meeting. There were no more piano lessons. I still wonder how many young girls did meet him.

It is your duty as a law abiding citizen to report or stop abuse, and your responsibility as a human being to care for children, whether you know them or not.

As for the sex trafficking that follows athletic events and conventions, maybe it is time for real action. Time for all the women in those communities to unite and carry posters outside the nearby hotels, motels, and event sites. Maybe women need to be heard loud and clear, once and for all. This is not about getting the vote or shattering the glass ceiling, this is about CHILDREN who are hurting and being tormented. Let us do better at helping them.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

