Fork and Spoonless

Boasting “The Best Desserts in New Braunfels 2010,” the Fork & Spoon eatery is lacking in an essential – spoons. This lack is very distracting, taking away from the usually yummy food to be savored and calmly consumed for the most part.

Order coffee and you will receive an extra large mug with a plastic stirrer. The sugar comes in packets. The tiny cream pouches are unrefrigerated half-and-halfs. Ergo, they are oil- or soy-based…If you ask for a spoon to stir your coffee, you might receive a long iced-tea spoon. Why so stingy with spoons?

I have ordered soup, which was very tasty, and received a spoon with that.

For breakfast, I usually order their Amaretto French Toast with pecan butter sauce. The last time two times I had that, however, they gave me burned heels of bread. Not good.

They do have incredibly delicious desserts, made by a reknown baker, whose name we could not find on the website.

One summer day last year, I was having lunch here with my daughter, when my sister and her tennis group came in for lunch. The waiting for lunch did not seem too long since there was so much talking going on. Suddenly, a woman sitting in a booth by the kitchen door stood up and was shaking her pant leg into which a roach had crawled up. Undeterred, she sat back down with her companion and finished eating. Unfortunately, the owner or manager did not come out to apologize. I wondered if the meal was free.

At times the staff seem preoccupied with each other, as if the customers are their duty rather than their livelihood. Service is good sometimes and slow at other times, whether there is a crowd or not. I have read other reviews of this restaurant and they are mixed. They do have an excellent menu that should be tried. You just have to catch them on a good day; unfortunately, no one can tell you when that will be.

The only consistency is in their very yummy desserts -carrot cake, black forest cake, buttermilk pie, cheesecakes, and more – which would be my only reason for going back.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Food and Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fork and Spoonless

  1. JenniBug says:

    You make me laugh! 🙂 I imagine it would be really tough to run a restaurant. Your place is really only as good as the employees who run it. But then again, management makes a HUGE difference. I have all KINDS of opinions on this topic. 😉

    Like

    • cyranette says:

      Danny keeps telling me, “We should open up a restaurant,” because he likes my cooking. It’s a tough business with long hours. It takes years before you feel confident enough to leave someone else in charge while you take a break…I bet you know firsthand what it is like and Abel’s was small. I never did understand why they did not expand into the area next door when it became vacant. You were the best and sweetest person there!!…Opine away!

      Like

Leave a Reply

