Comfort Food Recipe

Today I am beginning a new category:  Recipe and Thought for the Week. Winter is a good time to cook – unless the power has gone out from an ice storm. Some of my recipes don’t have actual measurements, because I’ve made them up and don’t measure exact amounts. If the food item turns out to be a keeper, I’ll add it to my recipe book but have to think about the relative amount of an ingredient I have used. Never fear, I will not post an untested/untasted recipe of my own. However, other times I may simply forward a recipe that seems outrageously yummy. If that happens, I will let you know it came from elsewhere.

RECIPE:  Here is a chicken pot pie recipe that warms the heart and the tummy. I made it last night.

two room-temperature Pillsbury pie crusts
1 cup leftover chicken, diced
1 can chicken with herbs soup(Campbell’s)
1/2 medium onion, chopped
3 medium yellow potatoes, cut in bite-size pieces, unpeeled or peeled
1/3 cup chopped celery
1/3 cup diced carrot
1/2 cup frozen peas
2 cubes of chicken bouillon(Wyler’s)
2 tablespoons of butter
couple shakes of garlic powder
couple shakes of salt and pepper
heaping tablespoon of grated asiago or romano cheese
dry potato flakes or Italian bread crumbs

*Preheat oven to 360 degrees.
*In a 2-quart saucepan, put just enough water to cover the potatoes, celery, carrots, and onions and boil with the chicken bouillon, butter, salt, pepper, and garlic powder until tender.
*Cut up the leftover chicken while you’re waiting for the potatoes, et al and get out the rest of the ingredients. (The package of pie crusts should have been sitting out on the counter for at least an hour if from the refrigerator. If they are frozen, it’ll take longer.)
*Do not drain the water after the potatoes, et al are tender. Add the soup, cheese, peas, and chicken to the pan. Stir.
*Taste. Add more seasonings if needed.
*The mixture will probably be almost thick but not thick enough. Here is where you can add your potato flakes or bread crumbs to thicken the mixture. If it is too thin, it will not set in the pie crust. (Mine was perfect last night, lo and behold!)
* You can simmer while you put the pie crust in the pie pan or cover it and turn it off.
*Open one pie crust and apply it to the pie pan as evenly as possible so that the crust comes up to the top of the pie pan. (The crust is supposed to be exactly round, but it is actually slightly ovoid.) Press it to the edges. Pour in the mixture. Do not fill it to the top. It should be thick enough so that you can put more in the middle. Put aside what you do not need. 
*Open the other pie crust and put it atop the pie pan. Press and fold the edge all the way around so that the filling is sealed inside. Crimp the crust edge of the pie pan. Cut several slits in the top of the pie crust for steam to escape.
*If you have one, place an aluminum protector around the crust/pie pan edge to prevent over cooking. If not, tear some aluminum foil strips and afix them along the crimped edge.
*Bake for 45 minutes or until top crust is golden brown.
*Cool for ten minutes and serve with salad and/or fruit.
*Freeze whatever filling you have left for use in a future pie or soup.

Note:  If you don’t have leftover chicken, you can use frozen chicken strips. You don’t have to thaw them, just cut them up. Or, if you have leftover homemade chicken soup, you can use that as your base. Just add thickening ingredients and the grated cheese, etc. I quit making my own pie crusts because Pillsbury’s are perfect.

Let me know how your pot pie turned out.

Thought:  My week was filled with grandchildren, three under 3-years-old. It was wonderful, watching them play and hearing their laughter. I gave myself over to them, not worrying about what I should be doing. They need to be loved and enjoyed as much as possible, for tomorrow is not a certainty.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

