Mamacita’s

Mamacita’s Mexican Restaurant Cantina in New Braunfels, TX is a favorite of ours. They boast having authentic Mexican food with good reason. Their quesadillas are superb. The spinach enchiladas are smothered in a delectably creamy cheese sauce. Not an ordinary yellow cheese, but one I have failed to recognize. My mouth does not care; it just wants more. They can be ordered as a meal or a la carte, which I usually do.

As soon as you are seated, a basket of freshly made thin, warm corn chips are set on the table. Your server follows with two small bowls of dipping sauces. I mix a little of each together for a tasty treat while waiting for our meals.   

The plates are large, hot, and well filled. Your water or iced tea glass is perpetually refilled, which is good because the glasses are on the small side. The flour tortillas are made in plain sight, which enraptures the children, and served warm with every meal. You can refuse them, if you don’t think you will be needing them or be able to eat them. (It is such a shame to waste them.) The quesadillas are scrumptious but huge, so a to-go box is usually needed.

The menu is all encompassing and decisions are hard to make. Check it out: http://www.mamacitas.com/ . One item I no longer order is their tortilla soup. Although the broth is tasty, the huge chunk of chicken in the cup or bowl is just too difficult to eat. It should be cut up or shredded.  

The cantina serves just about anything you can think of, but their margaritas are hard to beat. They even have O’Douls nonalcoholic beer for those not imbibing, as well as child versions of adult mixed drinks.

The wait staff always deserves an above average tip, while the manager constantly roams about the dining areas to make sure you are not wanting for anything. That meals are served in a timely manner is quite remarkable, because Mamacita’s is not a small restaurant. Hint:  If you do not want to wait, it is best to be there before 6:00pm during the week, and between 5:00-5:30pm on weekends, especially during the summer.

Whoops, I’ve just made myself hungry writing this review. It’s Mamacita’s tonight! Ole!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Food and Restaurant Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

