Yummy in the Tummy

Last week I made a very tasty soup. We hadn’t had it in a while for some reason, but I bought extra sausage so it won’t be so long until the next time. Best of all, you only need one big pot for all the browning, sauteing, simmering, and cooking.

Recipe:  Italian Sausage Soup

1 lb. Italian sausage (mild, sweet, or spicy; turkey or regular), 4 or 5 links
3/4 c. onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
2 cans beef broth (14-1/2 oz.)
1 (16oz.) can diced Italian seasoned tomatoes
1/2 to 1 cup white wine
1-1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning
dash of pepper
1 small can of kidney beans, drained
leftover veggies(corn, peas, etc.) or fresh zucchini and yellow squash*
handful of pasta(macaroni, bow tie, etc. – doesn’t matter as long as it isn’t too big)

Directions:
1. Saute sausage(I use a couple links of sweet Italian turkey sausage and a couple links of mild Italian) in a dutch oven, drain grease, and cut links into small slices before returning to the pot. Add onions and garlic and saute until sausage slices are browned on both sides.
2. Add everything else, except the pasta and leftover veggies. Cover and simmer for 30-45 minutes.
3. Add pasta and leftover veggies. Cook on medium until pasta is done. While this is cooking, make a salad and garlic bread. If desired, top each bowlful with shredded cheese of choice.

*If you don’t have any leftover veggies and your family does not like squash, add some sliced bella mushrooms and thinly sliced carrots. Add the fresh vegetables in step 2, leaving the pasta to be added alone in step 3.

Thought:  It’s warm again. In the 70s in mid February. Are we being lulled into thinking the gray cold is gone for the season? Well, I refuse to be tempted into planting seeds, seedlings, and the too-large-for-the-pot plants I have nursed through the frozen days and nights. Oh no, mother nature, you aren’t gonna fool me! 

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yummy in the Tummy

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Yummy in the Tummy | Cyranette's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

