Above and Beyond: A Dog Experience

Did you happen to watch the Westminster Dog Show last week? We usually make a point to watch it every year, but this year we only caught the second and last day, Tuesday, which was okay because we really like the sporting and working breeds. Having preferred/chosen the German shorthaired terrier,

we did not agree with the judge on the winner:  the Scottish deerhound.

While it might surprise you, we both love dogs. Just because I’m allergic to their hair and dander doesn’t mean I am not an animal person. I just have to love them from afar or take extra medicine to be around them. However, last Friday I went above and beyond in my dog duty.

Friday morning, my son Judson called to ask if I would pick up Ripley from Mom’s Day Out at noon and help him take the dogs, Jackson and Stewart, to the groomer’s. (Jud does not drive.) Of course, I would. So, I picked up my granddaughter, then picked up Jud and always-smiling baby Harley for a pre-grooming lunch. After that, we went back to the house to get “the boys,” as they are referred to.

Jackson is a Bichon Frise, a toy breed, which is virtually hypoallergenic, which is why Amy and Jud bought him. Being older, he is also mellower. Stewart is a Yorkshire terrier and a first-class yapper. He wakes up the baby all the time and pees/poops in the house whenever he is upset or doesn’t want to go outside to do his business in the cold or rain. Need I say more?

Anyway, I have a mini-van. The girls were in their carseats in the middle row. I thought Jud might put the boys in the backseat or cargo area, but then remembered Stewart gets carsick. Since we hadn’t far to go, I said nothing as Jud and the boys got into the front seat. Stewart immediately climbed into my lap and peered through the window. Oh joy! Luckily, I had taken an extra antihistamine. I looked over at Jud and laughed, “You owe me big time! This is above and beyond.” He agreed and said I should have ordered a costlier lunch. 🙂

The groomer’s place was located on Seguin’s town square a mile away. I rolled down the window for Stewart and me. Still smiling, I parallel parked with ease and off the boys went for their shampoos and trims. Amy would pick them up on her way home from work, so my job was finished and I didn’t even sneeze.

Danny and I plan to have several dogs, including a great dane, when we acquire many acres on which they can run around. None will be indoor dogs, although we will shelter them in some way during cold weather. My favorite to have would be a Basenji,

a quiet dog, not prone to barking. Yappy little dogs tend to bug the heck out of me.  

While growing up, my family had a collie and some mutts, no indoor dogs. When my kids were growing up, we raised some gorgeous Irish setters, a breed which has had its intelligence bred out of it, and were very fortunate to have a wonderful border collie with freckles on her muzzle. We called her Candy because she was so sweet.  

We also raised whippets, a sort of minature greyhound. Luckily, we had several acres on which they could run. A couple times a day, the runt of the litter and the one we kept, would suddenly get up and sprint as fast as she could in a huge circle past the horse stalls, pig pens, and chicken barn for several minutes. She got along great with our many cats, too.

A special Corgi named Buttons was Danny’s constant companion for many years before I knew him. Then together, we raised a couple of black labs in California until they got too big and rambunctious for our yard and little grandson. Now we are biding our time before becoming dog owners again, Danny more impatiently than me. We still have some traveling to do.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

