Unusual Fruit Cobbler

Believe it or not, this is a very tasty recipe. My second son, who is an excellent cook/chef, came up with this dessert. I embellished it.

Recipe: Strawberry & Pineapple Cobbler

1 can chunk pineapple
1/4 c. water
1 regular containers of strawberries(organic, if possible), sliced
1/4 c. strawberry preserves
1/2 c. sugar
2 tbs. uncooked tapioca
fruit cobbler or crisp/crumb topping

In a medium saucepan, cook on medium water, strawberries and sugar, stirring until sugar has melted. Add preserves, pineapple, and tapioca. Stir and cook for three minutes, until thoroughly blended. Pour into either a pie pan, 8×8, or 9×11 pan. (I only use glass, ceramic, or stoneware.)

Cobbler topping:
2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons sugar
4 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons butter or shortening
2/3 cup milk
sugar

Sift together the flour, 2 tablespoons sugar, baking powder, and salt. Cut in butter or shortening until mixture resembles coarse meal. Add 2/3 cup milk all at once; stir just until flour is dampened. Heap spoonfuls onto top of filling, slightly flatten and sprinkle with sugar. Bake @ 425 for 30 minutes or until top is golden brown.

OR

Crisp/crumb topping: Combine 1/2 c. flour, 1/2 c. quick oats, 1 c. brown sugar, and 6 tbs. butter and cut with pastry blender or fork in medium bowl. Sprinkle over filling and bake at 350 for 45 minutes or until top is golden brown.

Either way, serve warm with vanilla ice cream. Yum…(I would liked to have inserted a photo of this cobbler that I made last week, but it was devoured before I thought about it.) Too bad we don’t have smell-o-vision yet!

Note: If you are serving to a larger group, double the recipe and use a 9×12 baking dish.  The good thing about this recipe is you can substitute any fresh fruit or preserves you have; the topping remains the same. I’m going to try strawberries with fresh nectarines in the summer. Also, you can substitute a jar of homemade strawberry-fig preserves for fresh strawberries. (I’ll present the recipe for the homemade preserves in late summer.)

Thought for the Week: Last weekend I helped my daughter with her moving/garage sale. She literally cleaned out the garage. It had been a drizzly day, which negated our being able to  set things outside, except for under the breezeway. Staunch garage-salers showed anyway, thank goodness, and she sold almost everything. The rest we put at the curb with a “FREE” sign; it all disappeared within an hour. She could finally use the garage for her car for the first time in two years. However, this weekend she’s moving.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unusual Fruit Cobbler

  1. Jenni says:

    That recipe sounds great Monnie!! I may have to try it! 😉 Glad M’s garage sale was such a success!!

    Like

    • Cyranette says:

      Hi Jenni! Thanks…The move this past weekend was disorganized and stressful. Calvin had a fever and earache, as well, so didn’t feel like helping. Mer had four college guys, her boyfriend, and Tyler loading and unloading the U-haul, and at one point a couple of bike-riding Mormons stopped and lended their hands for a while. Bruises, scratches, and sore muscles abounded by all.

      Like

Leave a Reply

