“The Adjustment Bureau” and “Red Riding Hood”

After not being able to get to the movies for a couple weeks, Danny and I made up for it this past weekend. On Friday we saw “The Adjustment Bureau,” which was pretty good and had no cussing. The twists and turns kept us intrigued, but it was slow at times. However, just when we were ready for some action, there it was! Damon and Blount played off each other quite well. Poor old Terence Stamp still has the icy glare, but his expensive suit couldn’t disguise his too-thin body.

The Adjustment Bureau PosterRating:  3.8 stars

On Saturday we saw “Red Riding Hood,” which I liked more than Danny. It is loosely based on the “Little Red Riding Hood” fairy tale with a touch of “Peter and the Wolf.” Who turns out to be the wolf is a bit of a surprise. The cast contains well-known actors like Gary Oldman, Virginia Madsen, and Julie Christie, as well as up-and-coming newbies. Amanda Seyfried did a very good job as Valerie aka Red. However, the snow wasn’t real; the characters’ breaths did not blow out as they talked in all the “frigid” outdoor scenes. Guess we’re going to have to get used to computer-generated movies from now on.

Red Riding Hood PosterRating: 3 stars.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “The Adjustment Bureau” and “Red Riding Hood”

  1. LCR says:

    thanks for the review. I’ve been wanting to see Red Riding Hood (previews looked so good!) Think it’s a movie I could convince my man to attend?

    Like

Leave a Reply

