Fading Winter Blahs

Spring is here, though it lingers still in some parts of the country. Trees are blooming and leafing out. Grass is sprouting, but the wildflowers have yet to color the highways and fields. There hasn’t been enough rain.

The winter Texans began their migration back north a few weeks ago, while springbreakers have come down here for fun in the sun. Although each morning they have been met with clouds, they know the sun will burn them off by noon. So, refusing to be deterred, they plop atop a tube and brave the cold Guadalupe River anyway. They’re young and don’t care. “Give me a beer!” you’ll hear up and down the river. In the evenings, music reigns at outdoor venues from Canyon Lake to New Braunfels.

For families, there are many things to do to wait out the clouds: Landa Park, historic Gruene, and downtown are the Antique Mall, Art League Art Gallery, Naegelan’s bakery, and other shops. There is a plethora of eateries throughout New Braunfels, some quite unique and tasty: Granzin’s BBQ, Huisache Restaurant, Schobels, Friesenhaus, and more. TJ’s has the best malts in the state, while Clear Springs is number one for fried catfish and hush puppies.

Anyway, as the day warms up, I think of people experiencing snowmelt or too-much-rain flooding, wishing somehow the water could be diverted to where it is most needed. Can’t they make gigantic upside-down “umbrellas” to catch extra inches of rain and pipe it to other parts of the country? Building such infrastructures would create jobs.

Spring – time for lightheartedness and renewal!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fading Winter Blahs

  1. Love the pic of Landa Park. Only thing better than green trees and clear water, is more green trees and clear water…and maybe beer.

    Like

    • Cyranette says:

      Absolutely! Ever seen the redwoods in CA? Totally awesome!

      Like

      • Yep, many years ago. They are awesome. Any forest is, especially an old/virgin one, like the Joyce Kilmer Nat. Forest we have here. Like being in the presence of ancient beings.

        Like

      • Cyranette says:

        There is not enough detail from the website, but I’m sure the Joyce Kilmer Memorial Forest is grand. I love trees and forests of colder climes, although I do like eucalyptus.

        Like

      • It’s been 20 years since I’ve been to Kilmer. They have probably logged it since, if our corporate bought and sold government has had its way. I don’t even want to know, simply remember how it was. Maybe we should Occupy Joyce Kilmer (we may have to if things keep going like they are). But that’s another blog topic…if we wanna go there.

        Like

      • Cyranette says:

        Oh, I so hope not, John Paul.

        Like

      • I have tried to find out more on this, not clear yet. I will continue, with renewed interest in Joyce (a man) who wrote the famous poem “Trees”. He was killed in action in France in WWI. I found a very fine video about him and his forest, just Google “joyce kilmer loopy333” and it should come up top of page. It is not long, and very well done.

        Like

Leave a Reply

