Hello Spring

Winter has definitely fled central and south Texas. Booooo! No more sweater wearing. Spring is here for a little while, then summer will be roasting us. Excellent time of year for picnicking. 

Recipe for the Week: Easy Coleslaw

1/2 head each of green and purple cabbage
1 medium carrot, peeled and grated
1 sweet apple, diced no larger than 1/4″ (do not substitute applesauce – yuck)
1/2 c. Hidden Valley Coleslaw dressing*

In a large bowl or plastic container, shred/grate/cut/chop(however you like your coleslaw) the cabbages. Add carrot and apple. Mix with coleslaw dressing until well blended. You may need more, depending on taste. Cover and cool before eating, putting it in the refrigerator or cooler.

*After years of trying to get my coleslaw to taste like my mother’s, I found Hidden Valley Coleslaw. It has the perfect blend of mayo, sugar, and vinegar.

Thought for the Week: It’s not raining. Every morning it’s cloudy with a hint of rain, but the sun dries the clouds and shines again. Bummer! This portends drought conditions. Already we have yet to see any wildflowers, whereas last spring they were abundant. More sprinkler time will be needed, unfortunately. Also, the deer will be prone to eat even the deer-resistant plants.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello Spring

  1. Alisha says:

    Your recipe reminds me of my grandmother’s delicious recipe! I can’t wait for summer to be here. Summer brings warmer weather, family picnics, trips to the beach and sunbathing on the lake!!
    Happy weekend 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

