Allergy Eyes

These are my baby-blues, tinged with pink. They water and itch like crazy. I may not be affected by cedar pollen, but obviously oak pollen is a whole other matter. 

(My left eyelid has a thin gold weight in it to keep my eyelids closer together. The cancer destroyed my cranial nerve so that my left eye was constantly open. We adapt.)

The pollen covers everything, falling naturally or being blown near and far by the wind. It is wreaking havoc and allergy sufferers are miserable. A look at the following tree allergy map will show you the areas affected.

Ohhhh, Mother Nature how can you be soooo cruel? Allergy eyes make it difficult to read and write and to view the news. Earthquakes, tsunamis, tornadoes, hurricanes, and  floods are devastating manifestations of nature’s power and affect thousands upon thousands every year. Unfortunately, bad allergies can make people forget about those suffering more direly. Scratchy throats and itchy eyes, noses, and ears cannot be compared to the deaths and destruction from overwhelming natural catastrophies. As miserable as these microscopic and not-so-microscopic pollens can make a person feel, everyone should keep in mind there are far worse things.

cedar tree pollen being blown                                     oak tree pollen

 

                                           oak tree pollen falling down

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Allergy Eyes

  1. lisa says:

    Hi Cyranette, you are an allergen poster child! |I can’t believe you are this effected this early in the year. Is this different than other years? (We did a post on how spring was 3 weeks sooner, by all measures, vs. 50 years ago as detailed by a climate scientist in the Netherlands – http://www.wunderground.com/blog/yourgardenshow/show.html).

    Anywhoo, is the pollen release photo yours? If so, can we permission? It’s a great photo.

    My husband and I are putting together an project for people to find plants at various phenophases in their gardens and in nature. It appears on our website,YourGardenShow.com, in combination with USANPN, in the tab “Citizen Science”.

    Please let me know if it is possible to permission this photo, and what the attribution should be.

    YourGardenShow is free, and is organized around a garden journal which you can chose to share or not and so it makes phenophase recording and reporting easy.

    Thanks! Keep up the good work. And good luck with the oak!

    Lisa@YourGardenShow.com

    Like

    • Cyranette says:

      The pollen release photos were some I got online. I googled “oak tree pollen images” and there they were. As I was able to download and use them without wordpress giving me a security issue, I presumed they could be used for my post. Thanks for the comments.

      Like

Leave a Reply

