Longhorn Steakhouse and Longhorn Cafe

Last week Danny and I ate dinner at the newly opened Longhorn Steakhouse. As usual with new eateries in New Braunfels, it was packed. And it was packed with couples, families, and parties of meat-eaters. The decor was western, of course. The seating was comfortable with tables for two, booths for four, and round tables for eight. However, despite being open only a month, there were tears in the vinyl of my padded booth seat.  The food was good; the prices were high. We will go back but not often.

Before choosing the Longhorn Steakhouse that evening, Danny and I had walked into the nearby Longhorn Cafe. It was almost empty. The decor was unsophisticated and the staff wore UT (University of Texas) t-shirts with the longhorn logo. You had to order at a counter and have your name called. Not what we were looking for, so we drove across town to the steakhouse. However, yesterday after golfing, Dad and I tried it for lunch. Big mistake!



As we passed one of the huge windows, there sat my sister Lynne with three of her tennis mates finishing up their meal. When I pulled open the door, we could not walk in. The line to the counter was packed, but Dad refused to go elsewhere. Lynne came over to talk with us and apologized for the line. (Do not ask why, that is just Lynne. ) After a couple minutes, Dad could get through and went in search of a table, of which there were many. (He’s 84 and not able to stand in long lines.) Lynne stayed with me for another five minutes while the line moved slowly along. Halfway to the counter, I finally suggested she finish her lunch.

I was in line for ten more minutes. It took twenty-five minutes to get our food: two teas, one fish sandwich, and one smoked turkey sandwich. No fries or frills. Cost:  $14+. My turkey sandwich was made with cold toast; I could taste the congealed butter or grease. The turkey and cheese were tasty, though. Dad’s sandwich was so big he had to eat it with a plastic fork, but he said it was good. The place was very noisy; Mom would have hated it. There was congestion at the narrow drink station. The cheapest things I saw on the menu were iced tea for $1.69 and chips with salsa for $2.49. The okay food, convenient location, and UT gimmick will keep people going back, but not us.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Food and Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Longhorn Steakhouse and Longhorn Cafe

  1. Deb K says:

    Remember when it used to be convenient & cheap for 2 people to grab a bite to eat? No leftovers, no dishes to wash…now with tax and any gratuity, 2 sandwiches and drinks costs half a tank of gas…well at least for my little Taurus…I’d rather cook at home and have the gas, I can make a couple pounds of ground beef go pretty darn far! Never thought I’d have to choose…gas or dinner out….*Sigh*

    Like

Leave a Reply

