Abel’s Diner

Yesterday Danny woke up and said, “Let’s go to Abel’s.” Then he turned on the bedside lamp and looked at the clock – 5:40. For some reason, he thought it was almost seven and wanted to beat the Sunday crowd. Well, we sure would have. Abel’s Diner is open from 6:00-9:00 seven days a week. It is situated in a small L-shaped shopping place off of I-35 south, going towards San Antonio, and was there before anything else in Schertz, except Garden Ridge.

We got there at 7:10 and we were not alone. Even at that hour on a Sunday, there were 13 patrons. If you get there after 8:30 on weekends, you have to wait a half hour or more; waiting involves standing in line. But, as everyone will tell you, the wait is worth it.

There are 9 tables seating four, 2 tables seating two, and 4 booths. That’s it! Last year they had the chance to expand – again – by taking the space next door, but did not. Every customer wants more capacity for less waiting, but Abel is satisfied with the manageable space he has.

We haven’t been there for lunch or dinner, but the breakfasts are quite satisfying. Danny says the Eggs Benedict is the best he has ever had, so he doesn’t order anything else. I’ve tried just about everything and have not been disappointed until yesterday.

The cash register and small open-kitchen is on your left. Giant Abel-made cinnamon rolls wait under a heat lamp and greet you upon entering. I had never had one before, so I ordered one along with an egg/potato/cheese/onion taco, which was huge. The cinnamon roll, drizzled with icing, was brought to me before the taquito. Giving Danny the first bite, I expected his eyes to widen before saying, “Wow!” like he ususally does with something yummy. It did not happen, but I plunged ahead anyway. Nope. It reminded me of the tasty-looking but bland-tasting German pastries. Nothing beats a Cinnabon, and Abel’s didn’t even come close. But, the taco was very good.

Breakfast prices range from $1.39 for a taco to $6.49 for the Eggs Benedict. They have two soups: New England Clam Chowder and the Soup of the Day. There are three salads, side orders, six sandwiches, eleven entrees, specialty desserts of the day, and a children’s menu. Prices range from $2.25 for a cup of soup to $13.95 for a rib-eye steak.

Please note: I tried downloading the menu and a photo of Abel’s, but was unable to for “security purposes.” What’s up with that! Anyway, you’ll just have to check those out online, if you want to, although there is no website. Abel is too busy to set one up – and he doesn’t need to.

Also, the wait staff is excellent and friendly. They keep the tea and coffee flowing with a smile. We were seated, served, and sated in thirty minutes.

Bottom line:  Good food at very reasonable prices.

.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Food and Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Abel’s Diner

  1. Jenni says:

    Awww great review Monnie!! You must have had a crappy dry cinnamon roll from the edge, though… if you got a middle one, there is no way you would have thought cinnabon is better!! Icck!! Lol. But I’m a little biased, yes? 🙂

    Like

  2. Monnie says:

    Hi Jenni! I wanted to mention your name or at least that my new niece-in-law used to work there but was whisked away by my nephew. However, I wasn’t sure if I should or no, because I didn’t know how long you had worked there and if you had loved doing so. When the dolled up younger server went by, I whispered to Danny across the table that I bet you were a legend at the diner, a cinderella story come true. 🙂

    Anyway, the roll was not dry, it just didn’t have enough cinnamon and sugar, even in the middle.

    Like

Leave a Reply

