Beef Stroganoff

This recipe came from my first mother-in-law, one of the sweetest women in the world. Since I had no cooking experience whatsoever – Mom never wanted any help in the kitchen and never had time to teach any of us  – I welcomed all easy recipes to get me started. This is scrumptious, as my grown sons will tell you; they still take home the leftovers. Whenever I make this, a mouth-watering aroma wafts through the house, which Danny loves opening the door to.

Recipe of the Week:  Beef Stroganoff

1 lb. cubed steak or tenderized round steak
5 tbs. butter (all but 3 tbs. of a stick of butter)
1 medium onion, diced
1/2 c. flour, seasoned with salt and pepper
1 can Campbell’s Beef Broth
1 tbs. vinegar
1 pkg. of extra wide egg noodles
small container of sour cream (optional)

                                     

Directions:
1. Saute onions in the butter in a large skillet. 
2. While onions are sauteing, slice the steak diagonally into long, narrow pieces. Then cut these strips into 2-inch pieces. Dredge pieces through the flour and cover the bottom of the skillet with the meat, putting the onions on top. Brown the meat on both sides, moving the onions out of the way as necessary.
3. As soon as the onions and meat are ready, add the beef broth and vinegar, stir. The broth should cover the meat. Cover with a good-sealing lid and simmer for one hour.
4. About 20 minutes before the meat is done, cook the noodles in a large pot. Drain. Do not rinse.
5. When the meat sauce is ready, add the sour cream and blend. Then, either add the meat sauce to the noodle pot or the noodles to the skillet and stir. (If you want to go gourmet: after draining the noodles, add some butter, stir, and cover to keep them moist; then serve them on a  plate and top with the meat sauce.)
6. Serve with crescent rolls, a vegetable of your choice or a salad, and some fruit.

Note:  Sometimes I use the sour cream, sometimes not. Also, you can add sliced mushrooms to the simmering process. This recipe will feed four people. Adjust the recipe to serve more.

Thought of the Week: Grandmahood rewards the heart and soul. That’s the only way of measuring it.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

