What a Day!

*Yesterday the Texas House in Austin approved a budget that drastically cut educational funding, government jobs, building projects, Medicaid, and other social programs. The Lone Star State cares more about hunting, big business, and football than education or helping the disabled. PATHETIC!!!!

*Perhaps it is time for: 1) a $100 per person state income tax; 2) abolishing tax breaks for corporations; 3) using the lottery/lotto revenues only for education, the reason for which its bill was initially passed; and 4) passing a bill to end lobbying.

*Well, a northern front really blew in this morning. I was out watering the plants on our patio, when leaves and pollen began being blown into my hair and onto my clothes. It was 72 at 8am this morning; tonight it is supposed to go down into the 40s. No rain with this front, though. Water rationing cannot be far away. The strong, gusty, arid wind will dry everything out fast and result in static electricity as well. Mind yourself at the pump.

*Something, probably either a raccoon or an armadillo, dug up my old aloe vera plant in the front yard last night. Ticks me off! Silver lining:  At least that is all it ruined.

*The birds are back! The bird feeder is emptying faster. Oliver and I found a small egg shell this morning near the dug up aloe plant.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

