Too Hot Too Soon

*I do not like the heat, especially when it is accompanied by high humidity. I get very cranky when I’m feeling hot, disliking being sticky with sweat. Perspiration, smirspiration! It’s only April, for goodness sake! Poor old Nellie (my 2000 Chrysler van) did not like it either and decided to protest by not cooling us off after the parade.

*New Braunfels had another parade today sans floats, unless you count the numerous tricked-out wagons. I missed hearing the name of the parade, but it is one of several annual events apparently. Lots of little kids dressed up and walked five blocks with their parents and grandparents.  Several streets and the downtown circle were cordoned off by police cars and barricades for a couple hours, while the sidewalks had a few dozen wavers and gawkers along the “route.”  I had no idea what I was getting into, when Tracy asked me to come along with her, Carlo, Oliver, and bring the other three grandkids. She said it would last about 20 minutes. Hmmm, not quite. Calvin ended up carrying a banner, because someone else did not show up. He was pleased but chagrined. I was given a little American flag to wave around, but did not bring any water or sunscreen. It was an unexpected, unorganized experience. Maybe next year, if we go, will be better.

 (Calvin and another totally uninterested young man with a banner that did not precede the children for which it was meant.) There was one marching band and one neat red organ-playing musical vehicle, which I did not get a photo of, of course. They led the way and the rest of us scattered along behind in a most discombobulated way.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

