Playpens

Bring back wooden playpens!!! Call me old-fashioned, but wooden playpens are great for sitting and crawling babies. My mother, aunts, and grandmas used them. We learned to pull up, stand, and walk sooner. We were safe while Mom cleaned, ironed, or sewed. My sisters and I utilized them for our crawling children, but we seem to have been the last generation to have done so. Playpens are not prisons!

Soft-sided, mesh portable crib/playpen/play yards do not promote standing, balancing, or walking. Since they began being used, children have been walking later, many not until they have passed their first birthday.

The folding kind with a padded bottom is the best. It allows a comfortable place for a crawling baby to sleep and play, so cleaning or cooking can be accomplished. It can also be used outside in the shade while one gardens or reads a book/magazine. Or, of course, while using the computer.

Acting more like a fence, I would think that a bottomless playpen would be easily tippable or movable, which would not be a good thing.

This hexagon one would be an exception.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Playpens

  1. Jamie says:

    I agree with you 100%, since I recently found out that I am going to be a grandmother for the first time, and that I will most likely be taking care of my grandson while my son and his wife are working, I started looking for a good old fashioned playpen and there are none to be found. The ones they have are so small and unstable, ready to fall over at the first time a child tries to lift himself up. The ones we had were durable, and kept our babies safe, and at the same time gave us a little freedom to move around, do dishes, take a shower, put in a load of laundry. Gave them a chance to learn how to be a little independent while being in a safe enviroment.

    Like

  2. Cyranette says:

    You might be able to find one through ebay or craig’slist, Jamie. Otherwise, maybe you could have one made? Just out of curiosity, I’ll check out “This Old House” and “The Yankee Workshop.” Thank you for your comment, grandma. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

