A Perfect Morning

*The air was cooler, less humid this morning as Danny left for work. Hooray! I opened cross-ventilating windows to let in some fresh air, but I’ll have to remember to close them before I leave to play golf with Dad.

*Speaking of whom, I looked at some Easter pictures I took and he doesn’t look so good. He’s tired all the time, which he wishes could be rectified. After taking Mom out to breakfast almost everyday, he will read the paper and maybe go shopping or play golf with me once a week, but by 1:00pm he sits in his bedroom chair and that’s it. He says he tries to go to the gym a couple times a week to lift some weights and get on a stationary bike, but it does not seem like he is using much energy. His heart is sound, his lungs are good, but he has lost his spunk, his drive. After his heart valve replacement in 2009, he thought all would be well, but for some reason he expected the change to be instantaneous with no effort on his part. Finally, a physical therapist told him he had to push himself or he would not get better. And he did for a while, but for the past six months it has been nothing but complaints about being tired. Exercise, heart-revving exercise, creates energy, but he cannot seem to accomplish that. He’s pooping out and all stooped over. There’s no magic pill for him and I feel sad. He’ll be 85 at the end of May.

*He still beats me at golf, which he has been playing for 55 years. We only play nine holes and he drives the cart as close to the ball as possible. He takes a pain pill, which he calls his happy pill, to get him through the two hours. I could do better if I had the time to play three times a week or go to the driving range, but it doesn’t matter. Golf gets us out of the house and it pleases him.

*A third of the year is almost gone already. Geesh! Time has been flying by the past few years. On pleasant mornings, like this, it is easy to reflect on life with mourning doves cooing and breezes tossing around sun-touched leaves. Writing, reading, watching the grandbabies, observing nature, and being with my honey fill my life with love and contentment. Cooking, gardening, movies, museums, art galleries, and antique shops give me great satisfaction as well, but I long to travel. Sometimes home can be very cramped. Europe, the UK, Canada, and New Zealand are calling to me, but more faintly every year. There is so much grand scenery in this country of ours to be experienced first.

*The day has begun…A perfect morning.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

