The Joy of Gardening

Last month, after fear of frost was gone, I trimmed the trees and bushes, bought some plants, and sowed some seeds. I love watching things grow, and I derive great satisfaction from pulling weeds. Some of my potted plants were becoming too large for their pots, but  transplanting them into larger pots was not an option, as bigger pots/urns would have taken up too much space. So I put them in the yard. The instruments of my efforts were a round shovel, a posthole digger, and a  pickaxe. The plan was to start a hole with the shovel and use the digger to make it deeper. Hah!

The backyard looks like a regular yard with grass and dirt and plants, but just inches from the surface are rocks. The shovel would scrape against an unseen rock and I’d wind up with only a minute amount of dirt on it. After about ten frustrating minutes, I grabbed a pickaxe from Danny’s tool barrel. Everytime the pick hit stone, it sounded like a treasure box. The stones ranged from the size of a tennis ball to the size of a soccer ball, only heavy. And they were everywhere, making the transplanting experience a very long and arduous ordeal!

                                              

In the front yard I transplanted a large, old aloe vera plant that barely made it through the winter. Here the ground was rockless – such joy! Three days later, I went out to water and found that some animal had dug it up and left just a stump. What would do that? Something looking for moisture? What a drag!

A few weeks ago I planted four lantana in the front garden and, due to the drought, the deer had no choice but to chomp off the blossoms. Therefore, I transplanted them to the backyard in hopes of reblooming them and in their place put some Mexican petunias, which are supposed to be even more deer resistant.  We’ll see…

In the backyard, the vines along the former dog-run fence are doing nicely, thanks to the soaker hose. This one below is a Mandeville; it vines out quickly.

I love the patio plants, hanging and otherwise. It’s so nice to look outside and see so much green. The gardenia has finally begun to bloom and smells soooo nice.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

