And the Rain Came

For nearly two years Danny’s brother, Mickey, lived with us in the Santa Cruz mountains of California to help with Danny’s construction business. Last weekend he drove out from his home in Sun City, CA to lend another hand – but just for a few weeks. The first thing he asked was, “Are we having chicken-fried Friday?” For some reason, while he lived with us, I got into the habit of making fried chicken most Fridays. So, guess what we’re having tonight…

Recipe: Fried Chicken Thighs

1 pkg. of skinless, boneless chicken thighs
1-1/2 c. flour
1 c. Kellogg cornflake crumbs
1/2 c. bread crumbs or instant potatoes
salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder
1-1/2 c. milk
1 egg
vegetable oil (not canola or olive; they make it taste different)
teriyaki sauce

Directions:
1. In a medium bowl or baking dish mix together the dry ingredients. Add shakes of salt, pepper, paprika, and garlic powder. Stir to make the batter.
2. In another medium bowl pour milk and mix in the egg.
3. Trim the fat and veins from the thighs and put into the milk/egg bowl.
4. In a large skillet or fryer pour enough vegetable oil to cover the bottom 1/4″ deep and heat on medium. If using the fryer, turn it to 350 degrees.
5. Take a thigh out of the milk and put in the batter. Cover the thigh completely. Redip in milk and rebatter if necessary. Put thigh in skillet. Repeat.
6. Cook the thighs about 15 minutes on each side, using a fork to turn, until breading is crispy brown.
7. Drizzle teriyaki sauce over the chicken, cover the skillet, and turn off the heat. Let it steam for two or three minutes and remove the chicken to a paper towel and then serving dish.

With the chicken I serve Chicken and Garlic Rice-A-Roni, peas, and a fruit salad. Once the rice is simmering, I start the chicken. While the chicken is frying, I make up the salad, and a few minutes before the chicken and rice are done, I steam the peas…If you have leftover chicken thighs, they make good sandwiches.

(We also like their Spanish Rice with our Mexican meals, but I only add 2 cups of water and 1/4 cup of Pace’s Chunky Picante Sauce to the skillet.)

Thought of the Week: Yesterday the morning sky grew dark as night, causing the street lights to come on. Rain had been promised for days and was finally here. For a couple of hours we had thunder, lightning, wind, and glorious rain. It was not enough to quench the deep-down thirst of the ground, but it helped to close some cracks. Today, there will be no need to water the yard. I also saved some buckets of rain for the porch and patio plants. Hopefully, mosquitoes won’t take advantage of those savings…Spooky pictures!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And the Rain Came

  1. Jenni says:

    We sure needed that rain!! Glad it finally came, and I hope we get more still. Thanks for the recipe! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

