Spinach and Rice Casserole

Another week has sped by. We’ve already had leftover night, but there is still some strawberry pie left. The freezers and fridge are filled with ingredients for meals to come in the days ahead. Last night, because I did not have time to go back to the store, I substituted spinach for broccoli in the broccoli-and-rice casserole. It came out quite tasty.

Recipe: Spinach and Rice Casserole

rice
1 box of frozen chopped-spinach
1 small jar Cheez Whiz
1 tbs. Worchestershire Sauce
1 can cream of celery soup
1 can cream of mushroom soup
salt and pepper
2 tbs. butter

Directions: Preheat oven to 350.
1. Cook rice as directed for 4 servings, add and stir in butter, salt, and pepper before covering and simmering.
2. Cook spinach as directed and thoroughly drain with small-holed colander.
3. In large casserole dish add rice, spinach, and the rest of the ingredients. Stir until well mixed.
4. Bake for 1/2 hour.

Options: 1)Saute onion and celery and replace cream of celery soup with cream of chicken soup. Add diced grilled chicken. 2)Substitute frozen chopped or fresh broccoli for spinach.

Thought of the Week: Would that we could live without clocks. Those pesky devices either keep us in check or make us appear irresponsible. They tell us time is passing, hurry up! They make us act like the Wonderland rabbit or slouch in defiance; they make us anxious and impatient. The Cherokee in me rebels, but the German in me likes schedules.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

