Guacamole

Guacamole isn’t just for being scooped by chips. Add a dollop to a quesadilla, chalupa, or tostado. Here is my secret recipe. Keep it to yourself! 🙂

Recipe: Guacamole for a Party

4 large ripe avocados
1 tbs. Italian dressing
1 tbs. Pace Chunky Picante Sauce
salt, pepper, comino, garlic powder, Mrs. Dash’s Garlic and Herb seasoning, Mexican seasoning mix or chili powder

Directions:
1. Cut avocados in half and spoon out the fruit into a medium bowl.
2. Add the Italian seasoning and mash the avocados with a fork until smooth.
3. Add picante sauce and stir.
4. Shake in all the seasonings. Stir. Taste. Add additional shakes until desired taste is achieved.
5. Test with a Dorito or Tostito chip.

Note: If you just need guacamole for two, use two small or medium avocados…I have tried every which way, including putting the seeds back into the dip, to save what’s left for another day, but it just doesn’t work with avocados. (If anyone has been able to successfully keep leftover guacamole from turning brown, please let me know. No MSG or other artificial preservatives.)

Thought of the Week: Tragedy and triumph always seem to occur one after the other. When tragedy strikes families and communities, it is the resilience of the human spirit that triumphs. The overwelming death and destruction wrought by the recent tornadoes have been felt by the whole nation. But right away: neighbors helped each other; rescue crews came from near and far; and emergency shelters were set up. Our prayers are with all who have lost loved ones and their homes. Please help in any way you can.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

