Dogs, Tires, and Golf

*Those professing, sometimes loudly and proudly, to be Christians often act quite unlike Christ, whose message was love, tolerance, forgiveness, kindness, and charity. He, also, did not put himself above any other human being. Many “Christians” have a problem with that, as well.

*While in Kingsville caring for the three grandchildren, I have been walking their sweet Sadie, a rescue animal, once or twice a day. She is full of energy, very kid-friendly, does not bark at other dogs or cats, and does not chew stuff. She is thought to be two years old, but she acts much younger. With some good training and patience (no yelling or hitting) Sadie will make a wonderful pet, but right now she jumps and sometimes playfully bites to gain attention, which terrifies 7-year-old Benjamin, who refuses to go outside unless Sadie is in the dog run. Danny and I know to show our backs to her when she jumps and to ignore her until she calms down. When kids and adults react by shouting “No!” and batting their dogs down, the dogs think that is part of playing…Sadie is always ready to go for a walk and wants to lead the way, as in yanking me along, but I pull her back and have her stand still for a few seconds each time she thinks she is in charge of where we are going. At the end of a 15- or 20-minute walk, she’s ready for a drink, and I pat her for being a good girl. She could use a couple acres to run on and a buddy to keep her company.

*Being away from home for more than a couple days is uncomfortable for me anymore. I miss my own kitchen stuff, office, and husband (of course). For those of you who do not know, Kingsville is located south of Corpus Christi, TX, and came into being because of the King Ranch. It boasts a good university in Texas A&M Kingsville (formerly Texas A&I) and a naval air station; however, it remains too unpleasantly small-townish and rundown. There are no other cultural or intellectual draws, no good restaurants or parks, and nothing for the children to do when they aren’t in school. Being part of the coastal plains with minimal trees, the only elevations for miles and miles are overpasses and landfills. Although not far from the Gulf of Mexico, there are no significant, well-planned  beaches. Pros: Wind off the Gulf in summer keeps it a few degrees cooler than central Texas; being further south than New Braunfels, it is a few degrees warmer in the winter.

*Last Wednesday, after having my reliable 2000 Chrysler Grand Voyager (Nellie) with 202K miles checked out, I drove the three hours from New Braunfels to Kingsville. When I arrived, however, my daughter insisted I drive her new Kia Sorento to tote the kids to/from school and to run errands while she was gone. This I did until yesterday, when I thought I should give the van some exercise. Almost immediately, the steering wheel began to strongly shake and vibrate on the way to the grocery store, so I pulled over and called Danny. We agreed it was probably in need of an alignment, as no tire was flat. When I went to Firestone, I was shown that the left front tire had a big bubble; hence, the vibration. Two other tires were worn and likely to bulge or burst, so now I have three new Bridgestone tires and feel safe about driving home this coming weekend. (The fourth tire is only two weeks old, as its predecessor had an unfixable slow leak.)

*I brought my golf bag with me, since Dad told me Kingsville had a golf course. Today I shot a bucket of balls, while my one-and-only brother golfed with Dad in Canyon Lake. Jay plays with Dad the first Wednesday of every month, while I play the other Wednesdays, barring rain or cold…Dad turned 85 yesterday and can still beat both of us, although a week ago I happened to accidently win with 4 pars. Dad always buys my lunch after nine holes, but last week I bought his. He could not refuse to let me pay – finally. When Jay loses, he has to pay, which is becoming more frequent, but then he does not play but once a month…For five years, everyone has been telling me not to beat Dad, but I couldn’t help it. Winning just happened, and he was actually happy for me. Of course, I probably shouldn’t do it again for a while and, if today’s practice is any indication, I probably won’t.

(I apologize for not having any photos to add, but I did not bring the adapter for my camera.)

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dogs, Tires, and Golf

  1. Lynne says:

    Monnie, I loved reading what is going on in your life. Hearing about your golf outings and when the winner has to buy makes me smile. Everyone needs a challenge. Thanks for sharing how you feel. I am so lucky that Jenni enjoys writing and that you two have that in common. I can keep up with what is going on. I have missed you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

