Chalupas vs Tostados

The basic difference between a chalupa and a tostada is the type of tortilla. Chalupas are fried flour tortillas; tostadas are baked corn tortillas. Both are served flat with various toppings. Chalupas take a little longer because you have to fry the flour tortillas in a skillet unti they are stiff. Corn tortillas for tostadas you can buy already baked flat; the package says “Tostadas.”

Recipe: Chalupas/Tostadas

pkg. of flour tortillas or tostadas
1 lb. ground beef
1 pkg. taco mix
tomatoes, lettuce, onions, avocados*
grated or shredded Mexican cheeses (or colby jack)
1 can black refried beans (for tostadas only)

Directions for chalupas:
1. Cook meat in skillet as directed on taco mix. While it is cooking, do the followiing…
2. Dice tomatoes into a small serving bowl. Cut or shred lettuce into medium serving bowl. Chop onions into small serving bowl. *All these ingredients depend on the number of servings you will need.
3. Make guacamole from avocados in medium bowl. (see my “Guacamole” post)
4. Put grated/shredded cheese in medium bowl.
5. Fry tortillas, one at a time, in skillet with vegetable oil. When stiff and slightly browned, remove and place on paper towel.
6. Take a fried tortilla and layer on the toppings.

Directions for tostadas: Preheat oven to 350.
1. Cook meat in skillet with taco mix as directed.
2. Make guacamole.
3. Dice and chop tomatoes, onions, lettuce.
4. Grate cheese.
5. On a large cookie sheet place tostado flats. Spread refried beans on each one. Top with grated cheese and bake until cheese has melted.
6. Layer with toppings.

I serve both of these entrees with either Spanish Rice-a-Roni or Zatarain’s Black Beans and Rice, as well as some fruit, and start the rice at the same time as the meat.

Thought of the Week: Today is Calvin’s, Lizzie’s, and Ben’s last day of the 2010-2011 school year. As I drove them to school, they bickered – again. Meaningless, unimportant, trivial, annoying squabbling grates on my nerves. I am a nonconfrontational person and see no point in quibbling over minutiae. It’s pointless, as well as a waste of time and energy. So, I subjected these children (12, 10, 7), whom I love dearly, to my opinion and outlook on life for five minutes, trying to get them to be nice to each other, to save their anger and scorn for big issues. I know, I know, it’s a waste of time. My words won’t be absorbed; they probably bounced off closed ears or were forgotton as soon as they got out of the car. Kids!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chalupas vs Tostados

  1. Wayne Feltman says:

    I am not sure where you are from, but I have never seen a chalupa made with a flour tortilla. In Texas it is served on a flat fried or toasted corn tortilla and is exactly the same as what they call a tostada in other places. In other regions the tostada is flat and the chalupa is cupped, but still corn. That is more correct because a chalupa is a small boat like a canoe.

    Like

  2. Barb says:

    I agree with Wayne Feltmank 100%

    Like

Leave a Reply

